We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect pub”

Powers Thatched Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Oughterard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 October 2022

With a classic ambiance matched by outstanding hospitality, Powers offers a pub experience that's as good as any you can find on the island. The service is as efficient as it is welcoming and delivers seriously good food. We liked it so much we came back within 12 hours for breakfast. Great staff, great food, great community, great live music - Powers really is unrivaled.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidmE8220XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 710 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2022

My boyfriend and I had an amazing experience at Powers. Not only was the food excellent, but the service was equally incredible! The staff was knowledgeable and very attentive. I felt like we’d been coming here for years, even though this was my first trip over from Boston.
We ordered the barbecue chicken wings to start, followed by the beef burger and the oven roasted chicken. The chicken was cooked perfectly and super flavorful from the bacon and onion au jus sauce. The mashed potatoes were fluffy and seasoned perfectly. The burger had great flavor and the bacon and other toppings complemented it well. The chicken wings were also amazing! We opted for the barbecue ones, but they also offered hot sauce (buffalo) ones.
Sadly, we didn’t take any pictures, but the presentation of each item was beautiful. The chef was skilled in both flavor combinations, as well as presentation.
I have to say, during our trip, we were not “wowed” by the restaurants in Ireland, but Powers definitely changed our minds! Powers stood out from the rest, and we highly recommend that you give them a try if you are ever in the area!

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank carrierF3022KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 October 2022

We grabbed the last table on a Sunday evening and had a great seafood meal. The seafood chowder and fish and chips were were excellent and the service was very good even though the place was very busy. The traditional Irish band were great and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Averil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2022 via mobile

Amazing food, great atmosphere, extremely friendly family running the pub. Music night is a special occasion.

Date of visit: September 2022
1  Thank X6020NWjasonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 September 2022 via mobile

Staying in the area on holiday, we had dinner here on Saturday night, having turned up with no reservation the place was extremely busy and we expected to be turned away, but they found us space. The food was so good, we decided to eat there again on Sunday night. Again, it was busy but the food and service was second-to-none. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank Minnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travellers who viewed Powers Thatched Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to Powers Thatched Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.