We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delicious food, prompt and friendly service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oughterard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boat Inn
Ranked #5 of 24 Oughterard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NW Connemara
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, prompt and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

My son and I stopped into the Boat Inn today for lunch. The place was quite busy, but the staff were all attentive and friendly. The food came quickly and tasted great. There were lovely vegetarian options, and the chips were to die for. My son says it's his favourite place in the area, and I agree.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foorglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    36
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
48
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

I visited the Boat Inn yesterday. The Inn is now under new ownership and has been re-vamped. The difference is quite amazing from the sunny attitude of the staff to the completely new bathrooms/lavatories. There is a new chef and the food has also improved. I observed a family group from France eating adjacent to my table - they were really impressed and made their appreciation known rather loudly. Back to the chowder, good cosistency, good sized pieces of fish - highly recommend.
I was informed that all the rooms are now under renovation.
This is a totally new and vastly improved operation.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperlabrador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2009

I stayed at the Boat Inn recently and I cannot find one fault with it. From the moment we checked in (a large group of us) Joe and his staff were nothing short of being extra helpful. Anything that was asked was done without any hassle. The rooms are okay basic but defintely clean and couldnt fault anything there. We had a meal booked for the restaurant that night and again the food was only fab and service excellent with complimentary wine given to us all. The next morning they facilitated a late breakfast and told it was be serviced until 12pm. How good is that dont get that sort of treatment in other hotels and again we were all served a lovely breakfast. The bar of the hotel was again faultness with great drink, service and all provided. An excellent Dj played that night and sshhh we were even accommodated with a late drink!!! I would defintely recommend the Boat Inn to anyone travelling in that area that just want a clean, basic place to stay for the night. and a great time. Defintely will be back. Fair play to Joe and all the Crew at the Boat Inn.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PartyAnimalIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

very enjoyable stay. staff very friendly and helpfull. rooms were a bit dated but clean and comfortable.overall very happy as were our friends, met the lad with (no english) lovely lad and great crack. food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eaglej13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oughterard
4.8 km away
Ross Lake House Hotel
Ross Lake House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
4.8 km away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 7 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
12.0 km away
Ashford Castle
Ashford Castle
#1 of 3 in Cong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.0 km away
Connemara Lake Hotel
Connemara Lake Hotel
#7 of 24 in Oughterard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
4.4 km away
Tullaleagan Guesthouse
Tullaleagan Guesthouse
#18 of 24 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat Inn

Property: The Boat Inn
Address: Main Street | The Square, Oughterard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Oughterard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Oughterard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boat Inn is situated in the heart of the village of Oughterard on the N59 nestled near the shores of Lough Corrib and on the doorstep to Connemara. It consists of a bar & restaurant serving fresh food daily to locals and visitors from 8am until 9.30pm. It boasts a large outdoor seating area to the front and a private walled garden to the rear. Accommodation consists of 10 newly refurbished ensuite rooms. Our staff are friendly and efficient and will help make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boat Inn Oughterard, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing