We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
154
26
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
154
26
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast great place to stay nearby town friendly hosts the owner quiet location warm welcome made us feel aran islands aughnanure castle short drive patricia galway connemara ireland powers house
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2022

Very friendly hosts and in quiet location a short drive from the nearby town which hosts an excellent bar / restaurant called Powers Thatched Bar and Restaurant.
Breakfast was very good and Patricia was very attentive.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BigJazza904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 September 2021

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain View Guesthouse in Galway for eight nights. We would return any day. Patricia was so kind, helpful and resourceful. The house itself is beautiful, spotless, and has all the facilities travellers require. Wi-fi is very good. The surroundings are great and we had no problems finding the place on our smart phones. There's enough parking space for everyone and breakfast is very good, even for a vegetarian (almost vegan) like myself. There are a couple of nice places for dinner up the road in Oughterard. We discussed our day trips with our hosts and they provided invaluable tips. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdrianG2329
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 November 2019

We stayed here for one night while traveling through the area. Rooms were clean, tea service in room, free Wi-Fi, location quiet, and price was right. Mountain View checked all the required boxes for a one night stay and we would have been happy if the list ended there. But there was a bonus, Patricia! Patricia is an excellent host and made us feel very welcome in her home. She was interested in where we had been and where we were going, offered helpful hints for our travels, provided driving times between destinations, etc. In the morning she served an excellent hot cooked breakfast and helped us get back on our way. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thank you Patricia for the warm welcome.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cathyv972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 October 2019

My wife and I recently stayed here, and oh my goodness!! The place is great fun and the hosts are so accommodating. The helped with bussing and even got us back to town today so we could catch the bus. We will be recommending the Guesthouse to anyone who may ask about Oughterard. And the Irish breakfast was one of the best we have had on our entire stay. We couldn’t be happier with our choice to stay here with beautiful scenery in abundance and town being a short 1.5km walk you will never be without something to do.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JLBrown713
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 October 2019

I consider myself a pretty good navigator, but armed with a map and a GPS, it took us a while to find the Mountain View Guesthouse. The problem with finding it (as with a number of other places) was the fact that many addresses in Ireland lack a street number. Our GPS was not old but had no way of plugging in coordinates for latitude and longitude. Asking local residents gave us a number of different directions and luckily we happened upon one woman who knew the Guesthouse well and directed us correctly. Trisha was a wonderful hostess, providing us with a very quiet, clean, comfortable and out of the way room, a delicious breakfast and a warm and welcoming dining area where we ended up trading travel stories with some of the other residents. Nicely located about twenty minutes out of Galway it was the perfect place to stay in a quiet, rural setting. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank astroarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews