We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glengowla Mines & Family Farm Experience
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Taking Sheep Selfies with the best!!!

We absolutely loved learning about sheep herding and seeing it in action. We had no idea how much... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Thislatinatravels
Great day out for a family with all ages

My family (all ages, 5-74), some from the States and some from Ireland, had the absolute best day... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nanners88
Read all 463 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Oughterard
from US$47.40
More Info
from US$702.25
More Info
from US$605.69
More Info
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
394
58
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
394
58
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop panning for gold sheep herding our tour guide pan for gold well worth a visit sheepdog demonstration young man border collie family run great place to visit rainy day all ages couple of hours his job hidden gem great guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

As it was a wet day we thought we would pay a visit to the mines. €10.50 to get in so not a bad price.

No trouble getting into a tour of the museum and lovely wee guide gave great explanation of all the different rock and history.

Down into the mine hair net and hard hat on. Do wear a coat and good shoes as it is quite wet and cold.

Again the same guide did a great job of explaining everything. Won't go into too much detail but really interesting.

Not for the faint hearted as the climb back up is a bit of an effort for those who aren't as fit as they used to be.....

Little shop to buy gifts, momentos etc. Also an area to pan for gold.lol

We'll worth a visit.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank andreeg842
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

We visited with 4 adults and 2 young children aged 4 & 5. We all really enjoyed the visit. Our guide was very knowledgable and made the tour great for all ages. The kids especially enjoyed panning for jewels afterwards.
We spent a couple of hours here which meant we saw everything there was to see at that time.

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank sharlagreenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had a great time that day Keith. And Robert. Made us feel so welcome this tour is rich in history and facts if your in the Galway. Area this is a must see place on your travels

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank Appel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We had a fantastic tour of these silver mines by the owner. This is a small family owned mine. His knowledge of the working of the mines and the guided tour gave a true insight into what the life of a miner was like. You descend about 40 metres by various sets of stairs, wearing you hard hat. It was a great experience and much better than the larger mines we have visited.I would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank fainleog2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Our visit was guided by a very enthusiastic and informed young man. He had great knowledge about the history and geology of the mine. Well worth the visit. The only drawback is it would not be suitable for anyone with limited mobility.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank NBreathnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews