We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glengowla Mines & Family Farm Experience
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Taking Sheep Selfies with the best!!!

We absolutely loved learning about sheep herding and seeing it in action. We had no idea how much... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Thislatinatravels
Great day out for a family with all ages

My family (all ages, 5-74), some from the States and some from Ireland, had the absolute best day... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nanners88
Read all 463 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Oughterard
from US$47.40
More Info
from US$702.25
More Info
from US$605.69
More Info
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
394
58
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
394
58
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gift shop panning for gold sheep herding our tour guide pan for gold well worth a visit sheepdog demonstration young man border collie family run great place to visit rainy day all ages couple of hours his job hidden gem great guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Our visit was guided by a very enthusiastic and informed young man. He had great knowledge about the history and geology of the mine. Well worth the visit. The only drawback is it would not be suitable for anyone with limited mobility.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank NBreathnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The mines are open again to the public and renovated. Well lit and safe for all to visit. Brought our daughter and loved panning for minerals. Great insight into how life in the mines was.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 November 2016

We were here the first year it opened and often talk of it and went back again and this is a well worth visit the owner was there and his daughter and just knew this was somewhere that would be a must to return to...

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank cottagescomIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

I'm expect I would have scored the site as excellent if we had visited during the summer as there would have been more going on. The visit was my two grandsons aged 10 and 7, and myself we all enjoyed the tour of the mine, apparently it fits well with their obsession with Minecraft and my reminiscences of days gone by. We were part of a small group (thumbs up to Kevin!) and we were all very comfortable asking questions regarding every aspect of the whole enterprise. The icing on the cake for my boys was the panning for gold and gems, they would have stayed for hours, and are so happy to have brought all their "finds" home in the little bags supplied. We rounded off with our picnic on the tables provided at the site. For a day in late Autumn we had a great day out, we were there for nearly 4 hours!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I stumbled on Glengowla Mines on a recent visit to Oughterard. My children may have been a bit young to be overly interested in the mine itself (ages 5 and 4); however, they loved all the rocks and fossils in the gift shop, exploring the grounds (and ultimately going underground into the mine), and our guide Kevin was knowledgable, patient, and personable. As a homeschooling family - this is a perfect place for learning, as a person who loves rocks, well the museum offers a wonderful array from the site as well as from around the world and, to see the different samples of rock still in the mine - the experience was top notch! Will certainly recommend to friends and visit when we're in the area again.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank CortneyWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews