We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 21:00
Save
Howth Walking Tours experience not to be missed with John..
304

Book in advance
from
US$37.13
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Howth Walking Tours
from US$37.13
More Info
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveller rating
400
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
400
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tour guide john train views tourists trail
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 415 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018

It was our last day in Ireland and turned out to be the best thanks to John O'C.
Stumbling into him in the Howth town square and then getting a mostly private tour of the town and countryside was truly amazing. Stories / Laughs / History and a "pint" in the recommended tavern after made our last day in Ireland one of the best days of our trip. Thank you John, blessings to you

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Got off the train with no plans and ready for adventure. Met John. Love him. A new forever friend. He was gathering people who wanted to see the town and all of its beauty. John's stories along the cliff walk were amazing, whether true or not!!! We made some great new friends and had a beautiful adventure. John was the best host for the day and we were oh-so-lucky to have stumbled upon him.
Thank you John, you're the best!
xxoo Brooke

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank brookehilyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

We met a local Irishman by the name of John outside the train station. He'd been standing by the intersection with a bright yellow vest, looking to give someone a tour. Planning on taking the hike independently, we asked the man for a map, but one thing led to another, and a few minutes later we find ourselves being led by this funny fellow filled with stories. We were passing through as part of a larger trip of the British isles, but John made Howth one of the best parts, his little stories filling it with wonder and lore.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank TrekAdvisor35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We met John just outside the train station in Howth and because we were early he recommended a place for us to get coffee and scones while he waited for other potential walkers. We started our walk with just John and ourselves but along the way a couple of ladies from Australia joined us. By the end we had quite a bunch and John took a group picture of us overlooking the lighthouse.
Without John it would have been a nice walk, but because of him we learned so much more than imagined. We have friends that live just down the way in Malahide who have done the walk on their own many times and didn't know about some of the things John told us about. I can't recommend John's tour highly enough. He was very accommodating to us as well as being very engaging, informative and funny. I will forever be known as the woman who has 1500 children (inside joke). Thanks John we had a great time!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank margaritamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

WOW.... the views and sceneries are absolute fantastic.... But even better than that is the host, some would say guide, John O’Connor.... His knowledge and humor compliment each other and all adds up to a 3.5-hour-walk (hike).... All good in the end.... I have never had so much fun hiking, EVER..... Thank you, John.... You made a fab (meaning fabulous) place look even more fab (same as before)
Xxx
Luis

PS: 5 ⭐️ is not enough

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank D3816QDluish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews