We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and staff”
Review of The Abbey Tavern

The Abbey Tavern
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Price range: US$11 - US$26
Cuisines: Irish, Gastropub
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 15 December 2019

Great spot to pop in for a few drinks. Great food and lovely staff! Highly recommend, especially for a cozy afternoon on front of the fireplace or to watch the football

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank christchurchnz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardTobin, Owner at The Abbey Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2019

Hi christchurchnz15, thank you very much for highly recommending us on Trip Advisor - we really appreciate it. We are so pleased to read your review and we sincerely thank you for your feedback and custom. Kind regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 150 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

Heading back fro Dublin and decided to ring and book a table on a Sunday afternoon. We were lucky to get one.
Shelly served us.. Nice she remembered us from our last visit.
I had chicken curry and other half had salmon. We shared a baileys cheesecake and I had a baileys coffee.
The food was as good as I remembered last time. Good portions and reasonable. Lovely cosy setting. Be back in the summer all being well.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank shelly-ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardTobin, Owner at The Abbey Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

Hi shelly-ann, thank you for returning to us in The Abbey Tavern and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and that you were happy with the service provided by the wonderful Shelley. We hope to see you again next Summer. In the meantime we wish you and yours a Happy Christmas. Many thanks again and kind regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2019

That was the best and biggest fish and chips I ate all my life! I strongly recommend. And 100 characters, hagidnebdl ehisodjfn isjebdkx...

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank 617francisg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardTobin, Owner at The Abbey Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2019

Hi 617francisg, thank you very much for visiting The Abbey Tavern and for taking the time to rate your visit on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your fish and chips - now you know why it's one of our most popular dishes! Kind regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019 via mobile

I have been to many places in the world, but I found the heart of Irish Hospitality manifested here at the Abbey Tavern. Our server, Sarah, recommended a fabulous dish, Roast Chicken with a savory mushroom gravy. One of my associates had a cold pint of Guinness along with his meal. The atmosphere was cheerful, full of good music, genuine smiles, and the sort of joy that is lacking in so many establishments.
As for desserts, we had an apple tart, with a delicious, creamy vanilla sauce. The meal was filling, and was a great value for the price. Finally, as we left, there was a wonderful stroll with a magnificent ocean view just a stones throw away. Well Done.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank kaneadkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardTobin, Owner at The Abbey Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2019

Hi kaneadkins, this has to be one of our favourite reviews ever. Thank you very much for visiting The Abbey Tavern and for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advsior. "Heart of Irish Hospitality" makes our team proud and happy. You have just put into words how we want all of our guests to feel as they leave The Abbey Tavern. Sincere thanks for your kind words. Sarah in particular will be delighted. All the very best, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

We shared a fishers pie and a Guinness pie and there were delicious.

The dessert was a little disappointing but the local and the staff were really nice.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank serlinher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardTobin, Manager at The Abbey Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Hi serlinher, thank you very much for visiting The Abbey Tavern and for taking the time to rate your visit on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your main courses and the service provided by our team. I'm sorry that dessert did not live up to your expectations. Kind regards, Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbey Tavern also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to The Abbey Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.