We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, food & service ”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 47 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$46
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We actually stumbled upon this place while visiting Howth on an excursion from Dublin City. We didn’t have a reservation but the staff was very polite and willing to accommodate us, which they did very well. Some of us tried the oysters: fabulous! Fresh and full of flavor. For main entrees we opted for the fish and it was delectable. Although we should have had some wine, we pounded the Guinness!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank legrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRestaurantHowth, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Legrena
delighted you stumbled upon us
Don't worry many would say a good pint of Guinness is better than the finest glass of wine!! :-)
Visit us again soon if you can
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don’t know what was better....the spectacular view or the fabulous meal. We enjoyed both courses and the menu is very fancy. The waiting staff were lovely and accommodating. We will return soon. On the expensive side but well worth it.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRestaurantHowth, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Jack R
Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us
We are blessed with our location overlooking the water
Look forward to seeing you again
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hot plate light being switched on and off a bit off putting.
All other elements of the experience are excellent....service, menu, food, timeliness of courses etc. Topped with a magnificent bailey's cheesecake. Great value too. We'll be back!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Darragh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRestaurantHowth, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Darragh D
It is the best thing to read that you will return
Look forward to welcoming you
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

It’s been quite a few years since I visited this restaurant and it was a little disappointing. One of our guests was vegetarian and with only one vegetarian option for a main course we were advised they didn’t have it on that evening. Little flexibility for any alternatives so our guest had to have the starter as a main and no starter. The decor is tired at this stage and could do with an upgrade, likewise the cutlery. The food was ok, I had duo of salmon and cod and it was dried out. The scallops for starter were divine. Our other guest had venison and raved about it. All in all, very pricey for what we got and disappointing.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank HikerGerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRestaurantHowth, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear HikerGerro
Disappointing to read your review, but thank you for your measured feedback
We do our best to ensure every diner enjoys their visit with us.
If I may be so bold as to ask you to visit us again, we have an excellent Early Bird offer at €85 for 2 with 3 courses and a bottle of house wine to share
Hope to see you again in Aqua
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Went to Aqua for a birthday celebration as we always do. Menu a little limited at present but quality of food excellent. Great ambience with a fabulous night time view of the North Dublin coast and the chance of seeing a seal on the rocks below

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank bilboa0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRestaurantHowth, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Bilboa0509
Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us
Hope to welcome you again soon
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing