We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant in Howth.”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$47
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Marvellous restaurant on the west pier of Howth. Very nice and cozy. Very friendly staff. The views are amazing, with the tables next to the window right on the edge of the sea. The food is really good. Good value for money. There is children's menu. They give them papers with crossword puzzles and paintings.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Puchinina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Puchinina
Lovely to read your review and thank you for taking the time to write it
Hope to see you again soon in Aqua
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (786)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 78 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

Reservation. On-line reservation was promptly confirmed.

Arrival. A little odd to have to press a buzzer to get in to the restaurant.

Dinner. We're seated at window table with views over the harbour and Ireland's Eye. Staff very welcoming. Menu variety was good. Food was a wonderful combination of flavours. Beautifully presented without being over done. Really enjoyed my Hake.

Definitely would recommend a visit.

Thank Need2travelmore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Need2travelmore2
Thank you for your recommendation here
As we are a first floor restaurant we need to know guests are arriving hence the door bell.
Do visit us again soon
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were strolling in lovely Howth when we saw this restaurant. Luckily they had a table for us though the place was crowded. As a starter we took steamed mussels which were excellent full of flavour, garlic and juices. After a bottle of cool white wine we could take the Dart back to Dublin in a very happy mood.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear UMW
Sounds like the idyllic day in Howth
Glad you found us and enjoyed your meal
Hope you will return
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017

The view from this restaurant is outstanding, the staff are very welcoming and the the food is nice. Most of our party was pleased with the food but a couple were a it disappointed

Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Ron S
We do our best to have all guests happy, not sure what was disappointing for some but hopefully we did enough right that you will return
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The main dishes, fish, are expensive for what you get. I think that you pay for the views though you only enjoy them in certain tables...Our tomato and mozzarella salad was a joke!, 4 cherry tomatoes, a bit of mozzarella (30 g at the most!) and leaves...that was all leaves. We then had to wait ages for the main dishes, fish. It was not bad but not worth its price.

2  Thank MariaDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear MariaDeM
The restaurant has floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides so the view is good from any table, most guests want to sit by the window, where possible we will facilitate that happily. We seem to have fallen below your expectations on price, may I recommend perhaps our Early Bird Menu for your next visit. €79 for 2 to dine with wine
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing