We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steamed mussels”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were strolling in lovely Howth when we saw this restaurant. Luckily they had a table for us though the place was crowded. As a starter we took steamed mussels which were excellent full of flavour, garlic and juices. After a bottle of cool white wine we could take the Dart back to Dublin in a very happy mood.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear UMW
Sounds like the idyllic day in Howth
Glad you found us and enjoyed your meal
Hope you will return
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (765)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 63 of 766 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2017

The view from this restaurant is outstanding, the staff are very welcoming and the the food is nice. Most of our party was pleased with the food but a couple were a it disappointed

Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Ron S
We do our best to have all guests happy, not sure what was disappointing for some but hopefully we did enough right that you will return
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The main dishes, fish, are expensive for what you get. I think that you pay for the views though you only enjoy them in certain tables...Our tomato and mozzarella salad was a joke!, 4 cherry tomatoes, a bit of mozzarella (30 g at the most!) and leaves...that was all leaves. We then had to wait ages for the main dishes, fish. It was not bad but not worth its price.

2  Thank MariaDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear MariaDeM
The restaurant has floor to ceiling windows on 2 sides so the view is good from any table, most guests want to sit by the window, where possible we will facilitate that happily. We seem to have fallen below your expectations on price, may I recommend perhaps our Early Bird Menu for your next visit. €79 for 2 to dine with wine
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

Aqua is a superb restaurant located on the pier in the fishing harbour of Howth in north county Dublin. If you worried about having a glass or two of fine wine and driving, Howth is the last stop on the DART ( Dublin Area Rapid Transit ) rail system. It is just a short walk to the restaurant. Howth has many fine fish restauarants but Aqua is truly special as the restaurant is located upstairs offering panoramic views of Howth harbor, Irelands Eye (island) and the surrounding sea. Upon arrival you can sit in the cosy lounge overlooking the harbour. During the chilly months a glowing stove will warm you as you sip your aperitif and peruse the mouth water menu of both fish and meat. While window tables offer the best views, each table offers excellent views. The service is friendly, efficient and very professional. If you are looking for a fine meal in an exquisite location or for a special occasion Aqua will tick all the boxes. Booking a must.

Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Joe G
Thank you so much for submitting this lovely review
Delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and do really hope we will welcome you again soon to Aqua
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Went out for a meal here on 11th March. Place was very busy.
Had a drink at the car first. No where to sit down as all seats occupied. Had to stand for a drink. No apologies from the staff.
Got called to the dining room approx 30 mins after my booking time.
Shown to our seats. Table had no cloth. Just a veneer top that had been hastily wiped. Had to ask for salt and pepper to be brought.

My friend sat down on an upholstered seat only to discover it was soaking wet. Whether it was water, urine or a drink we still don't know. A complaint to the staff was met with a mumbled sorry and the chair was changed. No offer to pay for dry-cleaning or a complimentary drink.

I had mussels in white wine and cream. Small farmed variety. Not what you would expect in a restaurant on the Pier in Howth. My friend had chowder which was so so. Grilled sole was €38 per persom. No veg or potato included. Pino Grigio was €25 for a bottle. Passed on dessert and had 2 espressos. Bill came to €180. Complaint to manager on leaving was treated with indifference. He admitted he had knocked over a wine bucket earlier at the table. The offending chair shouls have been moved. I will never go here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank RayInDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear RayInDublin
Very disappointing to read your review and apologies that the occasion was marred by a mistake. Obviously had we been aware the chair was wet we would have removed it immediately but I think you answered your own question that it was certainly not urine. Each menu item and bottle of wine is individually priced so your bill should not have been a surprise. That said it is a shame that you left unhappy with your visit
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing