We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aqua, Howth, Ireland - Fabulous fresh fish”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$48
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Great window seats with wonderful sea views make the location really worth a visit. You need to book in advance.

The range of seafoods is extensive and the dishes we had looked good and were cooked to perfection. The Dover Sole was incredibly fresh and cooked really well. They only had a small fish left by the time we ordered but it was a good healthy serving.

Good wine selection and some good options by the glass.

Thank grwpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Grwpl
Delighted to read your review, thank you for writing it and sharing it here on Trip Advisor. Hope to see you some day soon back at Aqua
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

This restaurant has a magnificent view...... Is the menu as good as its location? To be honest: yes its is..... The wines are of excellent quality regarding the price (bottle or glass), try the mussels for starter, the seafood is fresh and of high standard.

The combination of a small restaurant, the view and the friendly staff made this visit a moment to remember....

Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MuellerAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear MuellerAndrew
Thank you for such a lovely review, delighted that we delivered a moment to remember for you
Please do visit us again soon and thank you again
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

A truly memorable experience. Fantastic setting with beautiful views. Excellent service. Tried the crayfish and prawn salad and the Dover sole for mains. Both outstanding. Well worth going back for.

Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear George P
Delighted to read you will make a return visit for us
thank you for the lovely review
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The hostess is impolite. The lobster, monkfish and other seafood dishes did not impress me at all, except seafood chowder and pork belly. I will not recommend this place as its price

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank lexiao f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Lexiao f
Disappointing to read your review, you seemed to have tried a number of dishes all of which are popular with locals and visitors alike so not sure when you visited that they food was not reaching your expectations. However if price is the issue, we have an excellent value early bird at €79 for 2 to dine with wine.
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

When you enter the restaurant the views over howth and north dublin are spectacular. On a sunny day you cna see for miles ove rthe water and coastline.
However
The menu is pricey and as such you woudl expect the food to be top class but my experience it wasnt. The fish was dry with little sauce, i had Hake. The chips were under cooked and not seasoned.
Its trying to be something its not TBH you pay for the view but the food is dog standard, pity. I wouldnt come back as there are too many restaurants nearby with better quality food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank colmph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Colmph
Disappointing to read your review, we generally get great feedback on the view as you mentioned but also food and service. You are correct in that there are many fine restaurants to choose from in Howth all offering excellent choice. We appear to not have impressed you on this occasion but perhaps you will return on another occasion and have more positive feedback for us
Regards
Charles Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing