We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & great food but...”
Review of Aqua Restaurant

Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$47
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Aqua is situated beside the sea which is very pleasant especially when you have a window seat. However our arrival was delayed due to a traffic accident, not our fault, and we did phone ahead to apologise and alert them to our late arrival(4.25 and not 3.30) The manager seemed reluctant to give us our table and pointed out that he needed it back by 5.45pm giving us just 1 hour 45 minutes to eat. He then pointed to the table across the room and left us. A very poor welcome. The food was excellent and the waiting staff were good but we were conscious of the pressure to finish by 5.45. Surprisingly the restaurant was not fully booked and as time went on it was evident that our table was not booked or needed at 5.45. Indeed we relaxed and enjoyed the desert menu and coffee leaving the table after 7pm. So a very pleasant meal was spoilt by an unpleasant presence and unnecessary pressure.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Maureen O
Apologies if you felt in any way uncomfortable throughout your meal. We are obliged to let customers know if there is another sitting due so that would have been the reason you were given an off-time, that said if the table is not required, we are happy for guests to remain and enjoy their time together.
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 95 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Family friendly restaurant serving plenty seafood for all! With a variety to choose from, you will not going to go wrong

Thank Nathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Nathan N
Many thanks for your recommendation
Hope to see you again soon at Aqua
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Those coming to visit restaurants, cafes and take aways in Howth are inclined to choose fish dishes. It is a fishing port, with a fair number of fish shops/merchants. Living close by, the restaurants are all fairly good in terms of their seafood offerings. However a recent visit to Aqua really came good. Their chowder was just perfection - superb texture and flavour, yet not too filling. So I was then we'll able to tackle their fish and chips. Very good, and not overly crispy/overdone.
The staff are also very capable and friendly, and they managed to look after a fair number of customers. The early bird is great value. Just too mention the prices on their wine list do creep up.
All in all an excellent evening

Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear John S
Thank you for your kind review, especially valuable when you mention you are a local to Howth.
Do hope you will visit us again soon
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2017
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Lovely food, lovely staff, lovely views BUT... Don't book this place if you have a large group (15) you will not be seated together! Advance booking was made but on the day we were seated on two separate tables even though there was space to put some tables together to fit us all (disappointing). Also, there is a two hour limit on time, certainly not enough for such a large group.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear Sir/Madam
It is unclear from Trip Advisor who you are so that we can chat to you about your specific booking but we host special events all the time and would be clear at the outset regarding seating arrangements.
We have health, safety, guest comfort and service issues to consider in our table plan so perhaps this is what the issue was when you visited.
Regarding the 2 hour booking on a table this is down to other bookings taken and the sitting you have booked with us. It is standard practice to indicate an off-time and whoever made the booking on your behalf would have been aware of all terms. Guests are always welcome to visit our bar to relax for a post meal drink and a chat.
Regards
Charles Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Pretty poor really.

• Fish was dry smelt very strong and did not appear fresh
• Chips undercooked
• Staff forgot gluten free bread
• Brusque unfocused service, and a bit "jarring'

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Dear John D
Your review is completely surprising to read
No idea when you visited us but can categorically assure you our seafood is served fresh and no other way, at a loss to understand your comments.
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing