We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aqua Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Howth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$47
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Aqua Restaurant offers stunning views over the water at Howth Sound, delicious dining and attentive but unobtrusive service. If you visit once, you will want to return again and again. We have our own kitchen garden & lobster pots sponsored in local waters to deliver our commitment where possible to Irish food. To sum it up 'Seriously good food in a room with a view'
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We were invited here by friends. We chose from the early bird menu. One of the best meals I've ever had. The fish and chips were out of this world and the creme brûlée was delicious. We will definitely be back

Thank koalanowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Koalanowater
Lovely to read your review, thank you for your kind feedback
We look forward to welcoming you back
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2017

Visited Aqua last Friday night with family,we all decided to go for the early bird,and were not disappointed,we had coffee and a few drinks after the meal and stayed until about 10.30.I found it great value at 79euro for two including a bottle of wine.Will be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Ken C
Thank you for choosing Aqua for your family gathering, delighted you enjoyed your evening with us
Please do visit again soon
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic late Sunday lunch for six. Love the chowder followed by superb Fish & Chips wit peas. The crusty bread with pesto oil is a great start of the meal. Will be back

Thank FranCare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear FranCare
Its the best news we can read in a review that a guest will be back, we very much look forward to welcoming you
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We chose Aqua for my birthday lunch and couldn't have been happier. On a weekend in Dublin you'd really miss out if you didn't dedicate a day to heading out to Howth. It's hard to believe a 20 minute train trip transports you from the bustle of the centre of Dublin to the sea and one of the most tranquil and loveliest fishing towns I've ever been to. From the minute we arrived the service at Aqua was outstanding and every dish was perfection. The complimentary sourdough with basil oil was a great start. We both had the Seafood Chowder which was deliciously creamy and generous with cod, organic salmon and haddock. Our main of pan fried cod with a simple potato and dill purée and sides of simple steamed baby potatoes and green beans in butter was perfect for lunch. All the desserts looked amazing but we shared the Special which was apple tart with just the right mix of tartness and sweetness, beautifully plated up with fresh blackberry, cranberries and a kumquat sprig with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Aqua is the perfect place to enjoy views of the Irish Sea and if you're lucky you'll enjoy a walk in the sunshine before and after. At £76 for two including the tip this was incredible value compared with restaurants in Dublin.

Thank Marinagower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Marinagower
Thank you so much for taking the time to write and submit this lovely review and thank you for choosing us for your birthday celebration.
We are so lucky to have our restaurant in Howth for all the reasons you mention and for ou proximity to the City, do please visit us again soon, you will be most welcome
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Howth is a quick train ride from Dublin and they waterfront is nice to walk around. There are a dozen or so restaurants, but we had heard good things about Aqua. That was a good choice. We are a group of 8 but that wasn't a problem. Every table has a view of the ocean as 2 sides of the restaurant a floor to ceiling glass. The service was excellent and we all chose off a fixed price menu, not the ala-cart.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquaRes, Owner at Aqua Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear Stephen D
Howth is indeed a superb trip from Dublin, delighted you found us at Aqua as we are the last restaurant to be found on the West Pier.
Do hope you will visit us again some day
Regards
Charles Smith
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aqua Restaurant also viewed

 
Howth, County Dublin
Howth, County Dublin
 

Been to Aqua Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing