We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend this peaceful retreat in Leitrim”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alder Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Leitrim, Carrick-on-Shannon, County Leitrim, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Excursion...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this peaceful retreat in Leitrim”
Reviewed 2 September 2021 for a stay in August 2021
2
people found this review helpful

We were thrilled with this house for our stay in Leitrim. The location is simply fantastic, it felt like we were very rural but we were still close to both Dromahair and Manorhamilton. The house had plenty room for four of us (two adults & two children), and had everything we could possibly need - all kitchen equipment, washing machine & dryer, wifi, towels etc. It was only a short run (~10 minutes) into the local town to do the shopping get takeaway or go out for dinner. Mary was the perfect host and it was a special treat to get fresh jam and fresh eggs on our arrival. Check in and checkout were very straightforward and Mary was responsive throughout. As for Leitrim itself, there was so much to do every day. We visited waterfalls, walked along the canal for miles, went out to some of the Sligo beaches, and did some gorgeous walks around Benbulben, Eagles Rock and some of the local forests. Hopefully we'll be back some day!

Date of stay: August 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gerold W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect stay, lovely countryside, many destinations for excursions, great host”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed here with our family for twelve days. Really enjoyed the lovely countryside, the authentic and newly renovated house. Great host! Many destinations for excursions. Thank you so much for a great holiday!

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Storytell...
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I really love Alder Cottage. It's been my second visit and I'm always looking forward to my stay. The cottage is cosy, well-equipped and surrounded by wonderful irish nature. Mary Luthers,the owner, is a great host and her food from Bluebell Organic Farm delicious....if you would like to have it,no must!!! I really hope to be back next year. By the way, May is a great month to stay.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
31 May 2018
So glad you enjoyed your stay and you were the perfect guest leaving everything spotless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andomhain...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely week in Alder Cottage”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We spent a lovely relaxing week in Alder Cottage. The house is beautifully presented throughout, warm, bright and cosy with everything we needed. The photos don’t do it justice! Very peaceful location and some beautiful scenery. Thanks
to Mary for her warm welcome and help. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Thankyou so much I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and thanks for keeping the place spotless!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DublinDgo...
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Get away from it all, in style!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Alder cottage is a great find for travellers who prefer to get away from it all. Stunning location and its not surprising to discover, the owners husband is an architect, the house is beautifully designed and presented. Being vegetarians, it is not always easy to find good food outside cities but Mary sent us the menu in advance and we were delighted with the organic meals she prepared for us. The complimentary organic veg basket we received on arrival was a really nice touch! All round, a great stay!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments we would love to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.