We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found it badly managed”
Review of Lady Gregory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lady Gregory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We found it badly managed”
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Arrived and found although had booked one twin and two singles, twin turned out to be a double. Staff it change it although they were not friendly and made no eye contact. Breakfast however was the worst experience. At 8.50 five or more staff were making up tables for lunch and sweeping around us which was extremely noisy. The restaurant manager seemed oblivious to the fact that they were doing this and not attending diners or the amount of disturbance it was causing. The breakfast itself was also very poor.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USIT21, Manager at Lady Gregory Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Dear Tina F

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us . Naturally I am disappointed to learn of the issues you encounteted whilst staying with us It is not our desire to upset any of our diners at breakfast. however as the hotel is quiet busy for lunch service our restaurant manager was merely giving commands and set up requirements for lunch service to our staff . I wish to apologise to you if you felt this was unwelcoming .The remaining points that you raised have being passed on to our head of departments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    146
    48
    17
    13
See reviews for
136
161
10
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My daughter had her wedding reception here and the hotel was wonderful. The service, the food, the staff, the rooms, the welcome we got - everything was perfect. I can highly recommend this hotel to any one looking for a lovely wedding reception.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Watson75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed in a family room it was spotless no complaints had a full night sleep. Breakfast was delicious and ladies in dining room very friendly. Could not fault this hotel a total gem and staff in reception went out of their way to be helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel. Thanks to everyone in the lady Gregory

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed in the Lady Gregory for 2 nights with my mum to test it out as I'll be getting married there in a few weeks. It's a lovely hotel. The rooms are extremely spacious. The food was delicious (huge portions too). The spa and pool were lovely. The Gregory Suite (where weddings are generally held) is beautiful but I won't go into that as I'm sure I'll be writing a glowing review in a few weeks!
The main thing I'll say here is that I have never come across better staff in any hotel or indeed anywhere. They are exceptionally friendly and really go out of their way to help in every way they can. I eavesdropped on several conversations while I was there (only thinking of my future wedding guests, or course!) and everyone was commenting on how great the staff were.
So until the end of August... I'll leave it at that.

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms - older and more spacious or slightly smaller but more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darinaprior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Stayed here with my 12yr old son and loved it. Fantastic staff who couldn't do enough for you and nothing was too much trouble. My son changed his mind about what he wanted for breakfast after we'd ordered and when I asked the waitress (blonde lady, sorry didn't get her name) she rushed to change it. I apologised for causing her problems and she replied "don't ever apologise, that's what we're here for". May be only a little thing but I have stayed in hotels before that when we asked to change something on our order we have been made to feel like we're causing a nuisance and just doing it just to annoy staff. Not in the Lady Gregory. Overall the staff were great and the hotels facilities were fabulous. Will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: We had a double room on the second floor at the back overlooking a car park, which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adaisy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gort
28.3 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
21.9 km away
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
#1 of 3 in Loughrea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
12.0 km away
Merriman Hotel
Merriman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinvara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
24.5 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
27.6 km away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Gregory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Gregory Hotel

Property: Lady Gregory Hotel
Address: Ennis Road, Gort, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Gort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Lady Gregory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lady Gregory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Gregory Gort
Lady Gregory Hotel Gort, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing