We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue for wedding and stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent venue for wedding and stay.”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We had our wedding in this hotel on New Years Eve 2011 and it was fantastic. From the moment we booked our wedding with the hotel we were impressed with the professionalism and friendliness approach of the staff. Any extra requests we asked outside of the wedding package were catered for without hesitation. On the wedding day at the hotel, the layout of the reception room was excellent, the food and service was very very good and we the wedding couple were very impressed and delighted with how our wedding reception went. We would like to give a particular thanks to the hotel wedding coordinator Helen. The attention to detail was impressive. The bridal suite was fab. All in all we would highly recommend the Lough Rea Hotel and Spa as a wedding venue and indeed a party venue. We wish the hotel and staff all the best in the future. Aisling and Aidan.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AidanAisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl R, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear Aishling,

Thank you for taking the time to write this super review of the Hotel and how your wedding on New Years Eve was organised both in advance and on the day. I am delighted that Helen looked after you so well and I will pass on your comments to her. I know she will be equally delighted to hear your positive comments.

I wish you and Aidan all the best in the future, and look forward to welcoming you both back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,


Karl Reinhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    251
    109
    44
    23
See reviews for
195
326
33
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2012

My boyfriend brought me here as a Christmas present. We got the spa package, which was €119 per person for TWO nights, including breakfast, an evening meal, access to the spa area for one day and a spa treatment of our choice. The value was really brilliant, our evening meal was delicious, as were the full Irish breakfasts (cooked to order) both mornings. The waiting staff, reception staff and those at the spa were all extremely friendly and helpful. I was extremely impressed with the hotel, it was spacious, clean and comfortable, with free, high speed wifi. We really enjoyed our day at the spa, and had the place to ourselves which was wonderful! There was a very relaxed attitude toward our check out time - we were running a little late but didn't have people banging on our door trying to get us out of the room! The only downside was the lack of swimming pool, but the spa area made up for this. Left the hotel feeling relaxed and very pleased with our stay. More people should go to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl R, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear 'Aoife B',

I am delighted to here that you and your boyfriend had a relaxing and enjoyable break with us over Christmas. Great to here that you enjoyed the menu in the the Lir Brasserie which is always a popular choice, ( we are just about to launch a new and exiting menu in the Lir Brasserie and also the Abbey Restaurant so you will have to come back and try them. I will pass on your comments to all concerned and I look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future.

regards,


Karl Reinhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My partner and i stayed here for 4 nights bed and breakfast. The room was lovely, really luxurious given the price (£198 for 4 nights!) and perfect for a romantic break. Staff were friendly and helpful, the food was nice both at the breakfast buffet where there was a good choice, and in the restaurant. We also used the spa and had some treatments which was really relaxing and excellent value for money (we had the whole spa to ourselves!). I would thoroughtly recommend this hotel if you are visiting the area. The hotel is on the edge of town - only possible drawback i can think of!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I waited in this hotel on 30/12/2011. I must say this is one of the nicest & cleanest hotels I 've waited in. It's a credit to all there. Staff very friendly & helpful. Well worth staying here. Will return here again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl R, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Dear 'Eddie243'

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your recent stay with us. I am delighted to here that the team here looked after you so well and will pass your comments on to all concerned.

regards,


Karl Reinhardt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We have stayed at the Loughrea Hotel and Spa on 3 occasions over the past few years, the last being in early September 2011 for a birthday treat. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are beautifully decorated, modern and comfortable. All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

The food in the bar has always been exceptional and well-priced.

I have visited the spa during 2 stays and the service there is equally fantastic and excellent value for money - again all the spa staff were very friendly and made me feel at ease.

My only minor negative is that it does appear that the breakfast area is in need of a refurb. I am not a breakfast person anyway but there was plenty of food, choice and the staff were accommodating.

Overall this is an excellent hotel, in a very lovely part of Ireland and great value for money all round. I would certainly recommend Lough Rea Hotel and Spa.

Thanks for lovely breaks and we will be returning very soon!

Room Tip: We always pay the upgrade to have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephchallis66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl R, General Manager at Lough Rea Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear 'stephchallis66'

Thank you for your kind comments in relation to your most recent ( and 2 previous ) visit here. Its always great to hear from returning guests. Please drop me a line directly to kreinhardt@loughreahotelandspa.com the next time you are visiting so that we might meet up in person at that time.

regards,


Karl Reinhardt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loughrea
3.4 km away
Meadow Court Hotel
Meadow Court Hotel
#2 of 3 in Loughrea
202 reviews
28.0 km away
Shearwater Hotel
Shearwater Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ballinasloe
773 reviews
33.8 km away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.1 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
24.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,094 reviews
15.9 km away
Raheen Woods Hotel
Raheen Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Athenry
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lough Rea Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Rea Hotel and Spa

Property: Lough Rea Hotel and Spa
Address: Galway Road, Loughrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Loughrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Loughrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Lough Rea Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Rea Hotel and Spa is located in the historical town of Loughrea in Co.Galway. This modern and stylish Hotel is within walking distance from all the shops, amenities and attractions of Loughrea.The Hotel boasts 91 bedrooms with panoramic views of the town's beautiful lake, the Sliabh Aughty Mountains and the Burren. The Lough Rea Hotel and Spa Wedding team are specialists in ensuring that the Bride and Groom have a wonderful day to remember. The hotel can cater for up to 300 wedding guests in the De Dannan suite: a state of the art grand ballroom. There is a range of air-conditioned meeting rooms that provide clients with the very best conference facilities available, conferences for up to 500 delegates can be accommodated. This hotel offers fine dining in their Abbey Restuarant, Relaxation breaks in the tranquility of Shore Island Spa. Enjoy light bites and delicious cocktails in the Rooftop Garden and Sky Lounge where it boasts sensational views of Lough Rea and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and LateRooms so you can book your Lough Rea Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Rea Hotel Loughrea
Hotel Lough Rea
Lough Rea Hotel And Spa Loughrea, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing