We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Marsha C

Lovely!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 Oct 2017
I stayed in several B&Bs during my trip to Ireland, and this was definitely the most elegant! It's a beautiful home and Julie was amazing...so charming and helpful. Her breakfast was fantastic. The B&B is very quiet and peaceful, and just a short drive into the charming town. Julie recommended an Indian restaurant in town that was superb. I highly recommend this lovely B&B!
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
2.1 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 km from Carrickmourne House
Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.4 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Autograph
€300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    €300
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.8 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Carrickmourne House
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
13.8 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
17.1 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
19.7 km from Carrickmourne House
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thomastown
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
41
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Absolutely loved our stay here, Julie Doyle made us feel right at home. Our room was small but it didn't matter, there is large living room with comfy chairs that the guests are allowed to use. We were the only ones staying at Carrickmourne House so it was nice and peaceful. From our room at the front of the property we had a wonderful view of the mountain side, it was absolutely delightful. We would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Any room would fit everyone's needs.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScoobyDoo1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Loved our night stay with Julie at Carrickmourne house. Just off the beaten path a little but beautiful scenery and nice and peaceful and quiet. Julie is a wonderful host with a great personality and very warm personality. Wish we could have stayed another night. Very good breakfast and drinks in morning. Highly recommend!!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed at Carrickmourne House for 2 nights. Julie, the owner, makes the place. She is very friendly, helpful and full of information about the area. You'll feel like you're staying in a friend's home. May not be a good choice for anyone who is just getting used to driving on the left, signage on Irish roads and maneuvering on narrow, back roads--particular concerns when you drive into the nearby town for dinner in the evening. One nit: due to locations of electrical sockets and mirrors in our room, it was difficult to dry and style my hair. Thank goodness there's a mirror app for iPhones!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scooter824
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 August 2017

It's a little off the beaten path, but it's such a wonderful place; it's worth the visit. Julie the owner is so nice and so helpful. Her breakfasts are great. And the room my friend and I shared was perfect. The grounds are gorgeous with all the flowers and grass and that was the view from our room. And on top of all that, the price was right. We had absolutely no complaints and wish the hotels we stayed in could measure up. It's a perfect spot to get to the Jerpoint Abbey and then into Thomastown and into Kilkenny. Be sure to eat your dinner before you get there, though Julie is not opposed to you bringing food in and eating in the breakfast room. Don't go to the nearby golf club, food is not good at all; didn't get to try any place in Thomastown, though.

Room tip: We had one that faced the back yard, so view of the beautiful grounds.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JettaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

A place to feel like home! It's awesome and the host was so lovely! The bedroom and bathroom were perfect and clean and the breakfast was great!
The place is very quiet and rounded by nature! We really recommend Carrickmourne House!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Antinea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews