We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carrickmourne House
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Julie was such a kind hostess. Our room was relaxing and the setting of the home was beautiful. Breakfast was excellent. We needed a nice relaxing stay after flying in from Chicago to Dublin and this fit the bill. Julie had an excellent dinner recommendation in nearby Thomastown. Overall very pleased with our stay here.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Carrickmourne House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015

We have stayed at many B & B's and would rate this up there as one of the best. Our room was at the front of the house and we had a large picture window with beautiful views of the magnificent, well kept garden.

Our room was large as was the bathroom. The room was spotlessly clean very comfortable and warm and cosy, the bed was very clean and extremely comfortable. There was plenty of storage , excellent Wi Fi, and tea and coffee making facilities. The shower was terrific, large with plenty of hot water.

Breakfasts in the mornings were terrific, plenty of delicious, fresh food was available. The cooked breakfast was delicious and a must have with home made bread on offer.

But the highlight of this wonderful B & B was the lovely, friendly, caring and very helpful hostess Julie. She was an absolute delight and made us feel so welcome. Julie has wonderful knowledge of the area and recommended to us some great places to visit. The Irish are the nicest people and Julie made our stay so much more enjoyable.

Would highly recommend this lovely B & B for an all round enjoyable experience.

But the highlight of our stay was the delightful, friendly and helpful hostess Julie.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank connell m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2015

This was our new Irish home for three days and two nights.Julie was a brilliant hostess
and her husband Paddy was there to give us driving directions.
The house was so welcoming we were at ease as soon as we crossed the door.
Rooms and their facilities top notch and not forgetting the food,
Julie and Paddy were really friendly and helpful a real pleasure to stay with.
perfect place to unwind.
Frank & Eleanor cahill

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Julie was a lovely hostess,friendly, efficient and very caring. Nothing was too much trouble. She looked after my mother and I so well during our 3 night stay. The rooms were really comfortable and lots of little touches like the bottle of spring water in our rooms. She treated everyone as if they were special and had time to talk to us and give us ideas about where to go. Wonderful breakfasts, with regard for our personal preferences, which Julie remembered for the next day. A lovely peaceful location which we would be delighted to go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clarec26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2015

Thanks to Julie for a wonderful night at her beautiful and very peaceful B and B Just outside Thomastown. A very comfortable and tastefully decorated home with glorious gardens surrounded by the beauty of Ireland at its bets including sheep and cows in the distance.Not just a comfortable Accomodation and beautiful breakfast but Julie was great at suggesting a wonderful restaurant in Thomastown and helped with my Husbands booking and our visiting the Mount Juliet Golf Club even going so far as to drop me to the club after my husbands early morning tee off. many thanks Julie you are a wonderful host and have a beautiful home. One tip, we found Kilkenny was a very busy town,were much happier to spend time at Thomastown , beautiful restaurant at Sol Brasserie and Mount Juliet Golf Course is stunning a car is helpful.

Stayed: June 2015
1  Thank KDPClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thomastown
16.8 km away
Kilkenny River Court Hotel
3.9 km away
Mount Juliet Estate
Mount Juliet Estate
#1 of 2 in Thomastown
1,030 reviews
16.4 km away
Hotel Kilkenny
Hotel Kilkenny
#5 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Pembroke Kilkenny
Pembroke Kilkenny
#1 of 19 in Kilkenny
1,779 reviews
15.2 km away
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
Aspect Hotel Kilkenny
#13 of 19 in Kilkenny
770 reviews
15.0 km away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrickmourne House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrickmourne House

Address: New Ross Road, Thomastown, Kilkenny, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kilkenny > Kilkenny > Thomastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thomastown
Price Range: €78 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrickmourne House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carrickmourne House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrickmourne House Thomastown, County Kilkenny, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing