We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Steve K
Berthoud, Colorado

Great stay, minor issues

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Aug 2023via mobile
My wife and i spent two nights in the Hunter Yard at Mount Juliet estates south of Kilkenny, Ireland. It’s an amazingly beautiful facility and, for golfers, pretty close to heaven! Even so and in consideration of the rate (pricey) structure, there are definite improvements that could have pushed our rating up.

The grounds are absolutely lush and immaculately manicured. It boasts a Jack Nickolas designed golf course and the course is flawlessly beautiful. The Hunter Yard part of the estate (separate from the Manor House) is well laid out and comfortable. The restaurant is excellent and boasts both a great dinner menu plus a really excellent Irish breakfast. The views from the restaurant are exceptional. The bar is very nice, well stocked and about average cost compared to peer properties. The staff is extremely nice and efficient although there were a few minor challenges communicating with some staff members (neither English nor Irish are first languages for some). This is really nit-picking though!

The detractors include a poorly designed shower half-glass water barrier system that was guaranteed to leak outside the shower and onto the floor. The overhead rain-style shower had good flow and temperature control. As a result of this water leakage system, there was significant mildew/mold outside the shower and along the door frame. I don’t know why hotels have such a hard time keeping this problem at bay but it clearly had penetrated some of the caulking that tried to cover over it. Also, the online restaurant booking system only works for future, not current dates. Front Desk Reception was unable to reach the restaurant so we just walked in to discover a half-empty facility after a short wait, were able to be seated.

Overall, we’d consider a repeat visit despite these minor distractions.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€455
€336
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    €455
  • Hotels.com
    €336
  • Autograph
    €336
0.3 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
    2.8 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Das Haus im April 2016
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    5.8 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    €160
    Fully refundable
    • Agoda.com
      €160
    3.3 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
    Go to your Happy Price
      7.1 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      €110
      Fully refundable
      • Agoda.com
        €110
      12.7 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free parking
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Agoda.com
      • Vio.com
      • Booking.com
      8.7 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      22.3 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      15.8 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Contact accommodation for availability.
      3.8 km from Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Thomastown
      Reviews (36)
      Filter reviews
      36 results
      Traveller rating
      14
      5
      12
      4
      1
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      Traveller rating
      14
      5
      12
      4
      1
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      8 - 13 of 36 reviews
      Reviewed 24 August 2023

      One night pleasant stay.
      Check in was only ok. Received a room, next to the lift and the room was small made up with a double bed, instead of 2 singles. My friend went immediately back to reception. We received a different room. Pillows and beds were very comfortable. Room was fine but nothing special. We made tea with one sachet of breakfast tea between us in tiny little cups provided.
      Facilities were: swimming pool, gym, golf course, horse riding, free bikes for around the grounds. Greeted by a lovely girl called Ann Marie, we had a beautiful table overlooking the golf course. Our waitress Jasmine was equally friendly and had a very good manner and way about her. She will go a long way in her career in hotel Management.
      There was a good choice for dinner and the food was presented beautifully. They had a large group of 50 or more which put pressure on the kitchen but when we did get our food, rather late it was very tasty. Wine was white and red St.Emillion. My friend had the Caleriac starter and the lamb. I had the crab starter, taste was not the best but presented well. We both shared the lamb, accompanied by fresh green veg, brocoli with nuts/cheese, mashed potato with lamp underneath, like a mini sheppherds pie, delicious. The lamp chops were delicious and all the extras on the plate added to the overall flavour. The meal was expensive but quality was good. The staff couldn't do enough, they knew 🙄 the food was delayed but handled it all very well. We didn't mind as the setting overlooking the golf course and were chatting and catching up. A big thank you to Paul in the bar after for giving us a laugh afterwards. Only real criticism is breakfast could be better for the overall price and experience.
      What's missing here is a drawing room or sitting room in addition to the bar and restaurant. You can venture to the Manor but its a ten minute walk and it was raining.
      Overall, nice stay. 2 nights would be better with a breakfast served.


      Room tip: It's not the Manor but it is a very good hotel for families.
      Date of stay: August 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Colette H
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 2 May 2023

      We had a really enjoyable stay in Hunters yard. Staff were very friendly and professional, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the steak in Hunters restaurant was absolutely delicious. There are lots of activities available on the grounds - for example table tennis, tennis, a lovely leisure centre and steam room/sauna, a cinema (which was wonderful) and bicycles to cycle the grounds (which had wonderful views along the way), but to name a few. We just wish we had stayed a few days longer!

      Date of stay: May 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank 800deem
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 10 April 2023

      Myself and my wife stayed in the Hunters Yard for 2 nights with family members, seven in total. We have been regular visitors for over 30 years and will always go back.
      So first, all the good things we experienced. Check in was good, the room overlooking the garden was excellent, clean and comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

      We had dinner in the Hunters Yard on both evenings and it was excellent, creative menu and great service. Chef Michael was very engaging with our small granddaughter who was curious about the kitchen. Nice to see ongoing improvements, as they have now opened up the kitchen and all is visible to the guests.

      After dinner there was entertainment in the Presidents Bar and the staff were great.

      The location is magnificent and we booked the grandchildren in for horse riding lessons, thanks to Aileen and all the staff in the riding school, it is a great experience for kids.

      The disappointment was breakfast. They have recently changed to a buffet service, and on the first morning we went to the buffet located at the opining to the kitchen, plates were on a table at the buffet but there was no plate warming, the food was stone cold and I asked for fried eggs and was told that eggs had to be ordered from our table. I have no idea how that is meant to work.

      On the second day, we ordered eggs at the table before going to the buffet, and were told the system had changed and we could now order at the kitchen counter. We ordered eggs which arrived on a hot small side plate, we now had to transfer them to a cold large plate and return to the table. At this time the tea and toast was stone cold and once again the breakfast was cold, we returned the lot and left. The logistical disaster was the talk of the dining room with lots of people complaining. Even the staff were complaining and suggested we advise management of our experience.

      At check out we told the staff and objected to paying for breakfasts that we returned. The staff insisted it was a B&B rate and did not want to refund us. Eventually, they discounted breakfast for 2 people but would not do it for 7 people. We asked to see the GM, the staff said they would discuss it with him and phone us later. And yes, you have guessed it correctly, no call.

      So this was definitely not a 5* experience, and perhaps a return to the table service may be on the cards. I'm sure Mark Dunne and the team will figure it out.

      Best regards.

      Date of stay: April 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Fred D
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 26 February 2023

      We enjoyed the chance to have an overnight stay at the Hunter's Yard. The room was really well appointed with Nespresso machine, top class flat screen etc. It was peaceful and quiet and the robes came in handy for swim at the lovely pool with friendly staff. The breakfast was excellent, wide ranging menu and tasty, and only wish it was in our budget to stay frequently. Phone service in the week ahead to contact wellness suite or restaurant was only criticism...impossible to get through or have someone answer...

      Date of stay: February 2023
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 28 July 2022

      Mount Juliet is an absolutely stunning location but the customer service experience is simply not on a par :(
      From the greeting at reception in Hunter's yard ( initially told by a miserable unhelpful receptionist that we didn't have a reservation for 2 days to the eventual discovery that the reservation computer doesn't marry up with the reception /check in computer ) to eating at the Hound ( multiple mistakes on food orders at literally every meal !) -it all seems too much of an effort to get things right !
      Of course there were individuals who were amazing ... staff at Jack's bar were fab/ chap who drove the buggy/sorted bicycles !
      Such a shame to have employees representing your brand who fall well short of the requisite standards themselves

      Date of stay: July 2022
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      1  Thank 777gillianh
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Ciaran O'Dwyer, Guest Services / Front Office at Hunter's Yard Hotel at Mount Juliet Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

      Dear 777gillianh,

      Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent visit to Mount Juliet.

      Your experience as outlined, is an obvious departure from our service ambitions and I apologise for this.

      I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and invite you to contact me directly in order to do so.

      Kind Regards,
      Ciaran O'Dwyer
      Estate Guest Experience Manager.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews