We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent self catering cottage in a great...”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Baltimore, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
stewhelan
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent self catering cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Perfect cottage, great location on beautiful grounds and very peaceful and quiet - very happy with my weeks stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebiTanne...
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Idyllic Little Cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a lovely week in this well appointed cottage. It is very peaceful and has lovely countryside views. The owners are very helpful and welcoming and the cream tea on arrival was a much appreciated surprise. We will definitely choose to stay here again if we are ever visiting this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review, which is much appreciated. We hope that Shamrock Cottages can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haraldkla...
Dettingen an der Iller, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately the Photos on Shamrock do not give a real image of the house, as they were taken before Renovation ...
What shall I say ... nice landlords, everything in the house you can think of ... privacy ... fresh flowers and scones + cream + jam for welcome ...
Very organized ...
Only drawback ... consider to have a different mattress...
But honestly ... it was reallyyyyy goooood !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JollyHock...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect West Cork getaway”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Sheryl and Michael have created a wonderful and welcoming cottage, we enjoyed our stay very much. The extra touches they provided, lifted what was already exceptional to fantastic. Spacious accommodation, beautifully decorated and furnished, fresh home made scones with jam and cream left for our arrival ( and extremely fresh eggs from their own hens) and hand picked flowers from their gardens in every room, we would thoroughly recommend a stay to anyone.
The location is delightful, within 10 minutes drive of Skibbereen, passing unmissable Lough Hyne and even closer to Baltimore with spectacular scenery and a good choice of dining options. An ideal base from which to explore breathtaking West Cork and Kerry, great to return to in the evening, with the added bonus of a wood burning fire.(the cottage is really very warm with full heating, but we couldn't resist lighting the fire just to enjoy that cosy glow!)
We can understand why many people come back to stay here, we'd love to do just that.
Thank you Sheryl and Michael, you deserve the greatest success, Claire and Ray Mantle.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepyBoy
Yorktown Heights, NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Even better the second time around!”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Our second stay at this charming cottage was fantastic! The cottage was just as we remembered it--like something right out of the pages of House Beautiful! This is a showpiece, decorated with exquisite taste and bouquets of fresh flowers; the spacious bathroom was stocked with high-end toiletries and loads of thick towels, and an endless supply of vey HOT water!, and the duvet on the downstairs bed was amazing! The owners of the cottage are absolutely indefatigable, working constantly on the beautifully-kept gardens and grounds, and we loved visiting the burro and four goats in a pasture nearby. A bird feeder right outside the kitchen window kept us entertained, and a flock of chickens provided delicious fresh eggs that were part of the gorgeous welcome packet that awaited us. The kitchen is well-equipped with plenty of pots and pans and lovely matched dishes and glasses, and everything is immaculately clean and neat. Cheryl and Michael couldn't have been more accommodating; our week at the cottage was truly perfect, right down to the gorgeous weather every day! This cottage would be perfect for a honeymoon get-away, or for a small family--the cozy loft bedroom was furnished just as beautifully as the downstairs. We can't wait to return to this idyllic spot on the beautiful west coast of Ireland!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing