We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great day at the Cobh Golf Club” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobh Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cobh Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in June 2009, this is 18 hole championship standard golf course with USGA specification greens and an Island Green at the par 3, 10th. The magnificent site at Marino is located in an elevated position and offers stunning views of the inner harbour, the estuary and surrounding countryside.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another great day at the Cobh Golf Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2015

A short ride from town and the train station, the Cobh Golf Club is a members owned club that welcomes guests. I played with 3 members that me feel like an old lost friend.

The course plays 6651/6267/6007 par 72 and was in good shape. Almost every hole has significant elevation changes, and the few that do not have slopes off the fairway. The slopes are also more hay than grass and best avoided. There are carts available but most people walk.

The course has spectacular views of the harbor and countryside. But the best water is surrounding the island green par 3 10th. Sheltered tee boxes with a windy green make this an interesting challenge. Fortunately on your way to the 11th you pass the the 19th hole to pick up a beverage appropriate to your mood.

With greens fee, clubs, and cart the cost is under 70 euros making Cobh GC a must play when town course.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Bookie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rosscarbery
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great well maintained course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2015 via mobile

We played as a four ball with 2 buggies and we really enjoyed our day out. From the minute we arrived, club pro David O Sullivan welcomed us and wished us the best around their extremely scenic course. Nice long par 4's, tricky par 3's and long par 5's with tight greens. Signature Par 3 tenth hole a great challenge. Bunkers, fairways and greens in top condition. Looking forward to our return to take on the course again.

Couldn't recommend it enough.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank GeoffWycherley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You need to be fit for Cobh Golf Club”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2015

Very friendly Golf Pro, easy online booking and good visitor rates.
This is a lovely course with great views over Cobh Harbour but if you are not very athletic or of a senior vintage I would recommend that you book a buggy.
My wife and I had a great round there today in glorious sunshine.
I would have given 5 stars if the new club house was built.

Visited July 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Leo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed my round.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2015 via mobile

Pro shop small and friendly. Course high up with good views of Cobh, challenging holes and some easy ones, if windy makes you think about club selection. I had an enjoyable 18 holes.

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
Thank Ror2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“superb views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2015

this is one hell of a tough track , very challenging holes ,very easy holes makes it an enjoyable experience ,stunning views of cork harbour ..to be recommended !!!

Visited April 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank squiremag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobh Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Cobh Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing