We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, good value, excellent views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cobh Golf Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cobh Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in June 2009, this is 18 hole championship standard golf course with USGA specification greens and an Island Green at the par 3, 10th. The magnificent site at Marino is located in an elevated position and offers stunning views of the inner harbour, the estuary and surrounding countryside.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value, excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2014

I arrived in Cobh to visit the Heritage Museum and also hoping to play golf. My B and B host, Frank O'Brien of Nyali Lodge whipped out his notebook and got me a tee time for that weekend for 20 Euro, a five Euro discount. What a delight playing this course. Drop dead gorgeous views of the harbor and estuary. It was lovely weather, around September 21st. David Sloane, the pro there, set me up with rental clubs and a motorized buggy for a very reasonable price. I played solo but didn't have much trouble getting around, just followed the player in front of me. I would definitely recommend this course for golfers of any ability. Bring your camera for some great shots. Modest dining facilities with a cute outdoor deck. I didn't eat there but the prices looked reasonable. This is not a fancy place, but a course where locals play which I prefer.

Visited September 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lovely course with challenging holes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2014

Cobh is located about 5-10 minutes outside the city and about 4-5 minutes from Cobh itself. It offers a nice challenging course on the front 9 and back 9. The signature hole is the 10th but the 12th is just as hard. Both are surrounded by water and are great fun to play. The Par 5's can be either reachable in two but if the wind is blowing it'll play tough. So great height elevation changes on the course but one or two hills to negotiate.

The grub is nice and the staff in the Pro shop are friendly.The views of Cork and the surrounding areas from the first, fourth, seventh tee and ninth green are amazing. Definitely worth a visit, it's fantastic on a nice Summer's day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJ&Keats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Challenging course well laid out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had a round there recently, part time golfer so it is tricky, lots of water and very long, but well worth a visit and very reasonable if you can hire an electric cart it is highly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robkmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“My first gulf experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great place, unique atmosphere, sea view, calm. My friend was member so I had the opportunity to spend tim with him. My very first experience in this resort was in 2004 andI am glad it was in Ireland that I love.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Avocat_international
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cobh Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Beautiful new course, can be windy, fantastic views of Cork Harbour....best play short onto the greens...very friendly staff, a great welcome a must if your visiting the area.....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnetteO321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cobh Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Cobh Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing