We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
34
11
5
1
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
11
5
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly service plenty of parking town centre beautiful view look forward beara peninsula bere island mary luggage hosts house
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Originally we had booked at seabreeze but something went wrong with our reservation.
The owner of seabreeze was so helpful to book a room at Cottage heights.
The reception was correct but not as warm as other B&B's we have been to.
The room has a great ocean view view with much space,clean but not well maintained.
The bed was very bad , the mattress is old and the springs hurt our backs.
Residents get a discount at the restaurant and that is a good thing because the food is less then average and not a good price/quality.
Breakfast starts at 08.30, a bit late for me but the breakfast tasted good.
The owners looked a bit tired and not so motivated to make us have a great stay.
For that price you can easily find a better B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Prikje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst touring Ireland. The room was comfortable and clean and the view over the harbour was amazing. The breakfast compared to other B&Bs we stayed at during our trip was quite poor both in terms of options and quality. We also had to wait for 20 minutes when we arrived at the B&B (at the time specified) as there was no-one to let us in.

We had an evening meal at the B&B which also doubles as the 'Cottage Heights Restaurant' - the seafood was very nice although in hindsight potentially a little on the expensive side. It may be worth exploring local options in Castletownbere.

Tim and Mary were both friendly and really helped us out when we unfortunately had a puncture, arranging to have the local garage come and repair it for us.

If you are staying at Cottage Heights I would also highly recommend McCarthy's Bar in the centre of the town.

Overall, a comfortable B&B in a good location that was unfortunately let down for us by an uninspired breakfast menu.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a 'Sea View'
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We, a group of five stayed there last week, arrived late in the day. They made every effort and provided us with clean and comfortable accomodations. We are not exagerating when we say that the food was the best we had in Ireland. We highly recommend them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We stayed at Cottage Heights for one night with relatives and we had a very pleasant stay. The B&B was wonderful and the rooms where clean and we had a wonderful view of the harbour. The food was excellent for both dinner and breakfast. Mary and Tim are great host and hostess and very welcoming and friendly. We enjoyed going down to the Millbrook Pub. We will be returning on our next trip to Ireland.

Room Tip: Rm 4 has a door to the outside and view of the harbour
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Burt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

My partner and I stay at Cottage Heights every time we visit the Beara Peninsula. Cottage Heights is a charming B&B which has spectacular views of Bere Island and Castletownbere Harbour. Mary and Tim are very welcoming hosts and go out of their way to ensure that our stay is always enjoyable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and most importantly they are spotless. There is also a restaurant at Cottage Heights. The menu is reasonably priced and there is a choice between a set early-bird menu or the A-la-carte menu. There is great choice in the menu. The food is delicious with very satisifying portion sizes. There is also an excellent choice of wines. The service is very efficient and friendly. For those looking for a relaxing and welcoming atmosphere with great food, reasonable prices and breathtaking views, Cottage Heights is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews