We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good staff”
Review of The Brick Oven

The Brick Oven
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Bantry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Co Clare
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice food, good staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

If you're looking for fine wines you won't find them here, but you will find good food, reasonably priced and very attentive staff.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MDH_CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    171
    48
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feb 12”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Excellent choice on menu & staff very friendly. Good value too.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mmb1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Tasy. Big portions. Modrn food but also classic pizzas and other seafood options. Great value and well worth the visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank paddy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Made a booking on a Friday night, although it wasn't really necessary as we were early diners, but the place filled up with hungry locals by around 8pm. The lady who took our booking remembered us when we came back, so this was a good start. We got prompt service and our starters (crab stuffed mushrooms, fish cakes) were both excellent, hot, fresh and tasty. The pizza base was 'a local variety', neither truly deep pan or thin, more like a kind of baked African flatbread. Perhaps not to everybody's taste, but we liked it a lot. The gourmet pizzas aren't really that gourmet or exotic when it comes to toppings, so we had the ordinary spicy pizza and it was pretty good with lovely Italian sausage and lots of chili, and also a mozzerella pizza which was clearly very tasty (I didn't get a taste of it!). To my Bantry friends this place is an institution, and it's not hard to see why. Left thoroughly satisfied and very full. We'll be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Callaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a pizza specialist”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I went there, there was friendly staff so I was expecting a nice meal. I had a pizza it tasted very unusual so not a pizza specialist.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FOS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brick Oven also viewed

Bantry, County Cork
Bantry, County Cork
 

Been to The Brick Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing