We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of The Mill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mill
Ranked #3 of 25 Bantry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Iberia, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed at this Bed and Breakfast on our recent trip to Ireland. The owners are very nice...we felt like we were at our favorite Aunt and Uncle's house and not a B and B. Very tastefully decorated with artwork by one of the owners. The room was just right and the breakfast superb. We even got travel tips during our stay. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherLeigh07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
101
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

For us, travelling from B&B to B&B, The Mill had it all, including a nice sun lounge to read and relax. We had a good room, the breakfast was comprehensive, and an extra compliment for the super-friendliness of the hosts.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We stayed one night in what we can only assume was once the garage - the room was seperate to the house which was great in terms of privacy but the decor and furnishing was a little tired to say the least! This was also the first B&B where we needed to use the heaters both morning and night. Location is ok, but not central - it is a definite drive into town, not a walk - especially problematic as the parking in Bantry is far from great. Host was very helpful however and gave a range of options when asked about places to eat dinner. Breakfast was of a good standard and is perhaps the saving grace of this B&B - indeed it is this which is mentioned in the guide book! Ok for a short stay, but don't expect it to be of same standard as other B&Bs in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaAndSteveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2009

In july we stayed at The Mill. Despite the rainy wheater we had a good time there. Tosca and her husband Kees are very helpfull and friendly people.
It's a realy good b&b on walking distance of the citycenter. Nice rooms, a lovely garden and plenty of parking space.
A really excellent breakfast, the best we had in Ireland, a lot of choice.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qazNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2009

We stayed one night in the Mill. There is parking in front of this beautifully landscaped home. You enter into the sun room, decorated with wicker furniture, a variety of plants and an eclectic mix of art. The rest of the home is decorated with numerous paintings and pieces of art giving it a charming appeal. The inn is a little bit out of the main town but in a quiet area. I had a wonderful nights sleep. Our room was a little cramped, there were two twin beds pushed together and one double bed for the three of us. We could have used more room for our luggage but the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was small but about usual for what we have seen in Ireland. The breakfast was wonderful and the owners very friendly. We would have loved to stay longer but we were traveling on to other parts of Ireland. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KB231blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bantry
0.9 km away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
2.4 km away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.8 km away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
10.1 km away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 km away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill

Property: The Mill
Address: The Mill The Mill The Mill Newtown, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bantry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mill, is a well established Bed and Breakfast. The Mill is a large bungalow, with all rooms on the ground floor. There is ample off road parking on site. We are recommended by many guides, including, The Lonely Planet, Le Guide Du Routard, Geo, The Michelin Guide, Dumont and more. It is a five minute walk to Bantry town, where you can enjoy nice seafood restaurants and bar food.Free WIFI available for you to use. All bedrooms are ensuite, with hairdryers and televisions.Separate kitchenette with coffee and tea making facilities. There is also a lovely conservatory where you can sit and read, or just relax and enjoy the views of the garden.The Mill is an ideal base for touring The Sheephead, Mizen Peninsula, Beara Peninsula, and for walking and cycling tours. We can provide a safe place to store your bicycles at night. It is also in a very good location if you are attending some of Bantry’s well known festivals, such as The Chamber Music Festival, The Masters of Tradition, or The Literary Festival.Breakfast is served in a comfortable dining room with nice art to see. There is also a buffet every morning which includes a range of mueslis, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals and more, for those that prefer healthy options. We also offer a traditional cooked breakfast .(breakfast menu available)We hope that you will find The Mill, a home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing