We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home - we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shealane Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Shealane Country House is a beautiful and comfortable place. From the moment we walked in the door, we were welcomed and well cared for by Mary and Jim. Such gracious hosts. Wonderful views of Valencia Island, the harbor and Portmagee from the breakfast room (breathtaking 180 degree views!) and from our sleeping room. We oohed and aahed at the panoramic views from our spacious and comfortable bedroom while sipping tea in 'proper' china cups both mornings. One of several nice touches Mary provides to make her guests feel at home. Only a short walk over the bridge onto Valencia Island. Several breakfast options were given and what we had was delicious (although we could not bring ourselves to taste the authentic black pudding!). We needed to get the boat to Skellig Michael (a MUST do!!!) early one day and Mary graciously made us some sandwiches for our trip. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

Shealane Country House is a really beautifull place.The house is decorated with taste, can see the lady of the house knows her stuff. The rooms were lovely and very cozy. Breakfast very tasty, moreover, served with a menu), so we recommend this place and wish all the best for Mary and Jimi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anicia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

My sister, niece and I stayed with Mary and Jim last June and we absolutely loved every minute of our visit! They were so warm and welcoming that we felt right at home with them. Mary has a bubbly personality that makes you want to just sit down with her for a nice chat and a cup of tea! The family room we stayed in was so nice and spacious, at the same time warm and cozy. We had sky lights we could open for the lovely fresh air and incredible window views on three sides of the room! We slept like babies! My niece had an accident in running to get the phone, tripped and broke a lamp in the room. Being 12 years old, she was distraught about telling Mary, afraid she 'wouldn't like her anymore", as kids do. Mary and Jim made her feel so much better about it, reassuring her that it wasn't a big thing and easily fixed. Breakfast was exceptional, with a panoramic view of the hills, water and the bridge over to Portmagee. Mary and Jim gave us a send off fit for family and we can't wait to return some day!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tolli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I stayed here just 2 nights ago - and I was so pleased with my stay that I couldn't wait to write a review about it. I type this as I rest at another B&B in Tarbert, and already I am missing Mary's graciousness, her 180 degree bay side views, pillow top mattresses, and hot-off-the-stove full Irish breakfast. My only regret is that I didn't get a photo with her! My friend and I came upon this gem of a home by accident, having gotten stuck in the rain and a cancelled Skellig Island trip. It was lovely just to read in the dinning room surrounded by the pouring rain against 3 walls of windows. Mary was so kind and such a lovely person. She made sure we were comfortable, full, and was always happy to converse with us.

Out of the 6 places that I have stayed at so far in Ireland, including the Fota Island Spa Resort in Fota/Cork (the steam/sauna rooms at the Spa were a nice treat in Ireland - though nothing compared to other Spas I've been to - but thats another review), Mary's B&B is my favorite in terms of service, hospitality, location, and the bed! Oh my the bed was so comfortable we almost missed breakfast and our ferry out to Skelling.

Whether you're passing by along the Ring, or planning a trip to Skelling Island - this is the ideal place to stay. It's a 1 min drive across the bridge to Portmagee, and good lunch/dinner dining at the Moorings right there too.

Thank you so much for a lovely stay Mary! Best wishes to you and Jim! - Jessica & Sin

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnickersMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I stayed one night with Mary in Shealane and would definitely recommend it. The room was spacious and clean, the breakfast was great, and the location was beautiful. I also stayed in Atlantic Villa B&B in Knightstown during my trip to Valentia and would strongly recommend either B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmuid2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
6.7 km away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
279 reviews
6.1 km away
Glanleam House
Glanleam House
#2 of 2 in Valentia Island
53 reviews
0.8 km away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
6.4 km away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
276 reviews
0 km away
Spring Acre Bed & Breakfast
Spring Acre Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Knightstown
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shealane Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shealane Country House

Address: Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range: €98 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Shealane Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing