We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gorgeous, Luxurious, and Lambs!”

Review of Valley of the Hare

Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth. Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth.
Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Our kitchen is large, well equipped and well stocked to help you show off your culinary skills.
The dining area is open plan and enjoys stunning views. It is perfect for both large small groups.
The light, bright living room provides beautiful views throughout the day.
Enjoying the views from the patio.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The study. Unlimited wireless broadband is available throughout the property.
Bedroom 3 set up with two luxury single beds.
Bedroom 3 made up with a luxury super king size bed.
Looking through to the living room.
Our resident hare will always pose for the camera.
All our bathrooms have lovely powerful showers.
Bedroom 2 made up with two luxury single beds. The room can also be made up as a super king size bed
One of our large and luxurious en suite bathrooms.
The master bedroom suite is arranged over the entire first floor of the cottage.
The bathroom in the master bedroom suite is large and luxurious.
Sit back and enjoy the lovely views from the patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Jacquelin...
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, Luxurious, and Lambs!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2013

This house was fantastic! When trying to decide who was going to end up in which room we had such a hard time because each one had fantastic aspects to it. The rooms were beautiful, well appointed, and comfortable; really nice sheets and towels. You don't need to bring toiletries, Susan provides great stuff including bathrobes. It was wonderful to laze around in the morning, planning the day's itinerary at the large table in the dining room. The kitchen is great for people who like to cook. The living room is comfortable with a television and the wireless is fast. The sun trap is a great place to have a drink or a meal and take in the beauty that surrounds you. The sheep and lambs will come to visit.

The views are fantastic! It is just gorgeous with undulating hills dotted with sheep and mountains in the distance, and a glimpse of the river and peninsula. The property is off the GPS - you will see your car floating on a white space. I found the directions to the house from Sneem a but hard to follow. Ask Susan if she has directions that use kilometers (we made a couple of wrong turns and it is hard the first time at night.)

The house is on a working farm and sheep roam about. One has to be careful to close the gate so that the sheep all stay on their appropriate fields and you may get to meet a friendly shepherd. A car is absolutely necessary. The village of Sneem is not far and it has grocery stores, pubs, and restaurants. It is a lovely village. One piece of advice is to get your groceries on the way to the house in one of the larger towns (like Kenmare) through which you pass because the variety is Sneem is limited.

Susan is a great proprietor. She was in the midst of changing the reservation system when we booked, the old one was a bit challenging (according to the one who did the reservation), so I cannot comment on what is like currently. We blew out a tire on the long driveway on a rainy Sunday night and called Susan who sent a couple of great guys to put on the spare and give us directions to a place to get a replacement. The kitchen has the basic supplies like spices and the other stuff that adds up, but that one never uses up, and she puts some perishables in the refrigerator to get you started.

I want to live here some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and the overall comfort of the house.
Liked least: The driveway.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAVMassUS...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious retreat that surpasses high-end hotel experiences.”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My family of four adults and one child recently had the opportunity to spend four days in the Tuckers' amazing holiday home. The Tuckers provide exceptional service and attention to detail, from the time of booking and throughout your stay. At every turn there are incredibly thoughtful amenities such as rain boots, an excellent DVD library and a laundry room that that I could only wish for in my own home! Luxury touches abound such as Jo Malone home fragrance, luxury bath products and linens to the decor and exceptional architectural design. The Tuckers' labor of love is evident throughout the rustic contemporary renovation of this traditional farmhouse, stone barn and famine cottage. The location is somewhat remote and a car is a must. However, it's easy enough for day trips on the ring of Kerry. I highly recommend planning time to just enjoy the home and retreat setting, which includes access to hill walking very near the house. We can't wait to go
back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen H
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Unbelievably comfortable in a glorious setting”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Everything that other reviewers have said about the high standard of this property is spot on - the superb refurbishment of the property itself and its setting which is incredibly tranquil. The living rooms and master bedroom afford perfectly framed, mesmerising views of the landscape that change every ten minutes with the weather (it was getting prints done of some of the many photos taken that prompted me to finally get around to submiting this review). Although the location really is in the middle of nowhere, at the end of a long winding lane, a short drive away there are shops and cafes selling delicious local produce, genuinely atmospheric pubs, beach walks, and lots of interesting places to visit on a day out (we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Dingle, the bee houses along the coast and the intriguing Gallarus Oratory).

We've stayed in some good holiday cottages in the past, but this one comes into a rarer category - somewhere that it was such a real pleasure to stay, on all levels, we are almost reluctant to tell anyone else about it, fearing that it will be completely booked up when we plan our next visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feeling perfectly happy to stay 'at home' all day if weather bad
Liked least: Struggling to think of anything to write here....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pauline J
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“High Class Accommodation in a Stunning Location...”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We are a regular self-catering holiday family and the quality of the accommodation is a high priority wherever we venture. At Valley of the Hare no-one could complain about the standard of the property – it’s luxurious in every way and the owners can feel proud of their efforts to make their guests’ stay extra special. Stepping into the property, you feel as if you have walked into the pages of a design magazine: the furnishings, bathrooms and bedrooms are of the highest quality.

The location and setting is simply breathtaking and the view from the supersize patio doors demands that you step out and drink in the scenery. If you’re feeling adventurous, you can walk for miles in every direction with just a few grazing cows or fell sheep for company. True to the name of the property, hares hop around the property - even venturing onto the patio in the evening. If you’d like to explore what Southwest Ireland has to offer, it’s just a short trip to the local town of Sneem and the start of the famous Ring of Kerry. Sneem is a charming small town with several pubs and cafes so that you don’t have to venture far to find good food or to stock up on supplies. We tried Dan O'Shea's pub - great food, good value and a menu which changes daily. It gets very busy so it may be advisable to book: details of the local restaurants are helpfully included in the property's handbook. If you decide to just stay in and relax, the kitchen is well-equipped and the larder full of all the necessary staples. With the large windows in the kitchen area, you can even enjoy the view whilst cooking. Sky TV, free Wi-Fi and every mod con available make you feel at home. Ipod docking stations in several of the rooms are a very useful addition. There is a large utility room with washer and dryer should you need them.

Valley of the Hare is an excellent place to discover this part of Ireland and, from a holiday perspective, we would rate our stay one of the best. We chose to go in August but the property, which features heated floors and a wood burning stove in the living room, would be suitable for breaks at any time of year. A car is essential for getting out and about but apart from that all you need is a good pair of walking shoes, a good road map for touring, a pair of binoculars and a bottle of your favourite tipple – everything else, from the well stocked fridge to the mountain of fresh clean towels, is provided!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and quality of property
Liked least: nothing really - perhaps the slightly tortuous final part of the drive from Sneem to the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishtrav...
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“*****This property deserves a five star rating”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is a fantastic holiday home, we would highly recommend it. We have stayed in a lot of holiday homes in Ireland, I've never reviewed them as they were all grand but nothing special however at last we have found a truly special place. It different due to the lovely details that the owner have added, the fantastic view and the fact that its so remove its really peaceful. Susan, the owner was lovely to deal with. I doubt there's a better holiday home in Ireland for the price we paid for "Valley of the Hare"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The really well stocked kitchen, sky tv and internet coverage
Liked least: The narrow road from sneem to the house but the views compensate for this!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing