We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, a superb host and a charming character filled house!”
Review of Staigue Fort Hotel

Staigue Fort Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sneem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staigue Fort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Sheila was a superb host - we felt welcomed and cared for during our stay at her B&B, which is full of character and charm from the moment you arrive. We had 3 busy days started off with a yummy cooked breakfast from Sheila, and it was a real pleasure to come in from the rain to a warm fire, a kind welcome, a beer in the bar and a clean, comfortable bed. Sheila went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable and had what we needed and even dried our wet coats and hats while we were out. It was peaceful, relaxed and very comfortable. All three of us plan to get back again ourselves and thoroughly recommend stopping with Sheila in her B&B when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017

We were a group of 17 people and stayed for four days at the Staigue Fort Hotel. We really had a great time with nice BBQ's, playing Darts, Party evenings at the hotel bar and sunny days in the garden.
By car it is easy to get to the beach, to the city centre of Sneem and you have the possibility to enjoy the nature next to hotel.
Sheila and all the others were perfect hosts! Thank you so much for the great time! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tambeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

The Staigue was my home away from home when I was in Castle Cove. Sheila is an exceptionally genuine hostess who makes everyone feel welcome. I will miss the place, the people and the dog Runtie - well he's an added bonus.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mo-and-lo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015

Southern USA style building, on the Ring of Kerry, in a beautiful spot - the small hamlet of Castlecove between Sneem and Waterville. A friendly B&B. There 's a lively bar popular with the locals. Free wifi is provided.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The building is very old American style and has an interesting history.
The proprietor, Sheila, is brilliant. She is welcoming, helpful, funny and interesting to speak with.

Also they are celebrating their centenary this year.

The rooms and windows and door and bathrooms are very old style but in good working order. There is a friendly female collie (I think she was a collie, not certain) out in the garden.

They have a small bar inside the house which contained a few other guests and a few locals. All warm and full of stories.

I will definitely stay here again the next time that I am in Kerry. Stayed here while cycling the ring of kerry and a few other touristy things over 5 days. This was the winning accommodation in my opinion and in the opinion of my co-tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warriormonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sneem hotels
0 km away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,141 reviews
0 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0 km away
Sneem River Lodge B&B
Sneem River Lodge B&B
#4 of 10 in Sneem
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Coomassig View
Coomassig View
#1 of 10 in Sneem
222 reviews
0 km away
Tahilla Cove Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staigue Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staigue Fort Hotel

Address: | Castlecove, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing