We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The building is very old American style and has an interesting history.
The proprietor, Sheila, is brilliant. She is welcoming, helpful, funny and interesting to speak with.

Also they are celebrating their centenary this year.

The rooms and windows and door and bathrooms are very old style but in good working order. There is a friendly female collie (I think she was a collie, not certain) out in the garden.

They have a small bar inside the house which contained a few other guests and a few locals. All warm and full of stories.

I will definitely stay here again the next time that I am in Kerry. Stayed here while cycling the ring of kerry and a few other touristy things over 5 days. This was the winning accommodation in my opinion and in the opinion of my co-tourists.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warriormonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We loved the quaintness of the old home . Sheila was a fantastic hostess , even presenting us with a box of chocolates on our departure. We had a great stay and enjoyed meeting the locals over an evening drink . Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room tip: Good views
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sandrawanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We burst into the shop, sopping wet after 5 hours on our motorbikes, begging Sheila for a room. She was very calm and handled the chaos exceedingly well :). We were soon roomed and warming up in a lovely old cast iron bath.
That evening she volunteered to light the fire for us to help dry out our kit and we spent the rest of the night in front of the fire, drinking Guinness and playing scrabble (from the hotel library).
Breakfast was awesome and Sheila prepared the food specifically for my Ms diet without breaking a stride. She was fussing over us all the time to make sure we had had enough to eat and even offered fruit for the road.
What a wonderful guest house and amazing owner. The house is 100 years this year. It is well worth visiting both these elegant ladies.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Centaur169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We will be back here - Sheila is the perfect host, the beds are wonderfully comfy and the cooked breakfast is fantastic with home grown tomatoes and the best white pudding in Ireland.

Take the time while you are here to appreciate the building, with all its unique features and old world charm. It is an absolutely brilliant B&B in a beautiful location and a worthy base on the Ring of Kerry.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Agadoo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Warmly welcomed by Sheila. Much appreciated tea, tart and biscuits were served to us in the upstairs 'library' after our 10pm arrival. My single bedroom was old style with sink, reading light, ample storage, warm bed, quiet and safe surroundings. Woke to birdsong. Breakfast included a variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurts, cereals, beautifully cooked breakfast (sausages, eggs, black and white puddings, tomato, bacon) toast and brown bread. The proprietor was very friendly, accommodating, hospitable and helpful. I paid €35 for bed and & breakfast. I will definely return and stay again. Staigue Fort House has its own website http://staiguefort.com/.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews