We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, quaint, welcoming”
Review of Staigue Fort Hotel

Staigue Fort Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sneem
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Staigue Fort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Reviewed 18 August 2015

The building is very old American style and has an interesting history.
The proprietor, Sheila, is brilliant. She is welcoming, helpful, funny and interesting to speak with.

Also they are celebrating their centenary this year.

The rooms and windows and door and bathrooms are very old style but in good working order. There is a friendly female collie (I think she was a collie, not certain) out in the garden.

They have a small bar inside the house which contained a few other guests and a few locals. All warm and full of stories.

I will definitely stay here again the next time that I am in Kerry. Stayed here while cycling the ring of kerry and a few other touristy things over 5 days. This was the winning accommodation in my opinion and in the opinion of my co-tourists.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warriormonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2015

We loved the quaintness of the old home . Sheila was a fantastic hostess , even presenting us with a box of chocolates on our departure. We had a great stay and enjoyed meeting the locals over an evening drink . Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sandrawanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We burst into the shop, sopping wet after 5 hours on our motorbikes, begging Sheila for a room. She was very calm and handled the chaos exceedingly well :). We were soon roomed and warming up in a lovely old cast iron bath.
That evening she volunteered to light the fire for us to help dry out our kit and we spent the rest of the night in front of the fire, drinking Guinness and playing scrabble (from the hotel library).
Breakfast was awesome and Sheila prepared the food specifically for my Ms diet without breaking a stride. She was fussing over us all the time to make sure we had had enough to eat and even offered fruit for the road.
What a wonderful guest house and amazing owner. The house is 100 years this year. It is well worth visiting both these elegant ladies.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Centaur169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We will be back here - Sheila is the perfect host, the beds are wonderfully comfy and the cooked breakfast is fantastic with home grown tomatoes and the best white pudding in Ireland.

Take the time while you are here to appreciate the building, with all its unique features and old world charm. It is an absolutely brilliant B&B in a beautiful location and a worthy base on the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Agadoo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Warmly welcomed by Sheila. Much appreciated tea, tart and biscuits were served to us in the upstairs 'library' after our 10pm arrival. My single bedroom was old style with sink, reading light, ample storage, warm bed, quiet and safe surroundings. Woke to birdsong. Breakfast included a variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurts, cereals, beautifully cooked breakfast (sausages, eggs, black and white puddings, tomato, bacon) toast and brown bread. The proprietor was very friendly, accommodating, hospitable and helpful. I paid €35 for bed and & breakfast. I will definely return and stay again. Staigue Fort House has its own website http://staiguefort.com/.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sneem hotels
0 km away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,138 reviews
0 km away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0 km away
Sneem River Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Coomassig View
Coomassig View
#1 of 9 in Sneem
222 reviews
0 km away
Tahilla Cove Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staigue Fort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staigue Fort Hotel

Address: | Castlecove, Sneem, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing