We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
O'Dwyers The Villa(Waterville)
US$126
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butler Arms Hotel(Waterville)
US$183
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$253
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
14
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We loved the quaintness of the old home . Sheila was a fantastic hostess , even presenting us with a box of chocolates on our departure. We had a great stay and enjoyed meeting the locals over an evening drink . Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Good views
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank sandrawanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We burst into the shop, sopping wet after 5 hours on our motorbikes, begging Sheila for a room. She was very calm and handled the chaos exceedingly well :). We were soon roomed and warming up in a lovely old cast iron bath.
That evening she volunteered to light the fire for us to help dry out our kit and we spent the rest of the night in front of the fire, drinking Guinness and playing scrabble (from the hotel library).
Breakfast was awesome and Sheila prepared the food specifically for my Ms diet without breaking a stride. She was fussing over us all the time to make sure we had had enough to eat and even offered fruit for the road.
What a wonderful guest house and amazing owner. The house is 100 years this year. It is well worth visiting both these elegant ladies.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Centaur169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2014

We will be back here - Sheila is the perfect host, the beds are wonderfully comfy and the cooked breakfast is fantastic with home grown tomatoes and the best white pudding in Ireland.

Take the time while you are here to appreciate the building, with all its unique features and old world charm. It is an absolutely brilliant B&B in a beautiful location and a worthy base on the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Agadoo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Warmly welcomed by Sheila. Much appreciated tea, tart and biscuits were served to us in the upstairs 'library' after our 10pm arrival. My single bedroom was old style with sink, reading light, ample storage, warm bed, quiet and safe surroundings. Woke to birdsong. Breakfast included a variety of fresh fruits, juice, yogurts, cereals, beautifully cooked breakfast (sausages, eggs, black and white puddings, tomato, bacon) toast and brown bread. The proprietor was very friendly, accommodating, hospitable and helpful. I paid €35 for bed and & breakfast. I will definely return and stay again. Staigue Fort House has its own website http://staiguefort.com/.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Wow, this is what the Irish Cead Mile Failte is all about. We found The Stague Fort Hotel almost by accident on August 14 while cruising "round the Ring" sussing things out before an upcoming wedding in nearby Waterville.
The second we stepped inside the door, we knew we had found something so special. On inquiring about accomodation for the few days, Sheila insisted on showing us the room before we booked, on walking thro the house, I had the most wonderful feeling of warmth and hospitality wash over me, of course we booked.!! We had the lovliest evening in the bar with our hostess Sheila, who, to be honest, words just cannot describe, she introduced us to the locals and immediately we felt at home.
We returned the following week for the wedding and were welcomed like old friends. Again, great craic and chat in the bar, and breakfasts that would keep you going for the day, with Sheila's fantastic brazil nut and orange bread.mmmm!!
If you are planning a trip down to South Kerry, include The Staigue Fort Hotel, I guarantee you, you will call again. Thank you so much Sheila for an unforgettable couple of days. Looking forward to many more. :)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews