We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely and relaxing farm house”
Review of Hillview Farmhouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillview Farmhouse
Ranked #12 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 July 2014

this great farm house is right next free roaming cows, sheep, calves, chickens and even one donkey.
we drove by and saw the cows and the B&B sign and decided to check if they had a room for us. even though we arrived unannounced and during the evening they treated us with tea and great freshly baked scones at the balcony overlooking the pasture.
the room was not the cleanest we have been to but certainly acceptable.
breakfast was made to our request (one vegetarian) with everything you normally get at an Irish B&B only this was made with the produce as fresh as can be (the cows were milked that morning, same for eggs) and was possibly the best we had in our vacation.
our host was incredibly nice and made sure to ask for our plans for that day and give us some tips, some of which were highly valuable like opting for the ferry and save us quite a bit of driving towards dingle.

Room Tip: make sure you get the room overlooking the cows! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alon_Shtadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would definitely recommend. Welcoming, working farm. Delicious, home-cooked breakfast, friendly hostess, helpful suggestions and directions. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Cathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband and I recently (August 2013) toured the Republic of Ireland for two weeks. One week with a tour and the other week on our own. We booked several types of places to stay to try to get a taste of several things while we were there. We stayed one night at a regular B & B, two nights at a castle hotel, two nights in Temple Bar, one night at a resort hotel and two nights at this "farmhouse" B & B. At first I was disappointed with this "farmhouse" B & B because I thought it was going to be someplace that would be inviting to participate with the farming (mildly) like maybe feeding some animals, petting some sheep, etc.... Being an animal lover but not having the access to these types of animals I thought this would be that type of experience. It wasn't but upon our return I looked back at the website and it had no mention of this so apparently it was just something I had in my head. I guess a farmhouse B & B in Ireland is just as it said on the website (which I guess it was just me fantasizing about the petting animals part). It is a farmhouse (and family) renting out rooms in their home. Just like if you went to a local farm in our country, knocked on the door and asked if you could spend the night. No plush towels, no little shower caps, no fanciness whatsoever. HOWEVER, it was WELL WORTH THE STAY to visit with an Irish family, to have someone to talk to about Ireland, politics, family, culture and getting to know some of the REAL IRELAND PEOPLE. What it's all about. Not just going to Ireland and driving along the tourist traps, and there are tourist traps practically everywhere. Dorothea and her husband and grandchildren where LOVELY. Very down-to-earth people. She invited us to sit in their living room to watch the Rose of Tralee which we had never heard of before that night. It was a special treat. Unfortunately an American from Texas won it. Anyway, if you can deal with thin bath towels, bring your own toiletries and a little dust (not more than the average home) then I highly recommend breaking away to this type of stay for at least part of your vacation. It's a great way to meet real people of a country. And, it was very affordable and she had great local recommendations like to travel counter-clockwise on the Ring of Kerry so you are traveling WITH the tour busses instead of against them on those extremely narrow roads.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

loved the stay it was a farm house
l really liked the animals even to look at them is a peaceful feelling the service was brilliant and dorothea was very knowledgeable of the local killorglin and mid kerry area. The <a href="http://www.hillviewfarmhouse.com">hillview farmhouse website</a> contains details on all towns and attractions. I will be recommending hillview farm killorglin to my friends

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsos20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Dorothy and Joe greeted us on our arrival with tea and scones. Very quiet location with an incredibly relaxing setting. The hosts made us feel like family friends and that it was not a business, but a sharing of their home. The farm fresh breakfast was amazing and a great start for the Ring of Kerry. Dorothy offered an amazing recommendation for dinner at the Golf Course, with amazing views of the area. This will definitely be on the list next time in Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holl5351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
0.2 km away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
134 reviews
1 km away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
0.4 km away
Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
0.5 km away
Torine House
Torine House
#6 of 15 in Killorglin
114 reviews
3 km away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Killorglin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillview Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillview Farmhouse

Address: Milltown P.O., Killorglin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing