We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building”

Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 27 Restaurants in Killorglin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$48
Cuisines: Spanish, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tapas Bar and Restaurant. Based in an atmospheric old church Sol y Sombra celebrates local food served tapas style. Perch at the bar and nibble a few bites or graze through the menu of an evening at your leisure. Outside terrace for summer dining. Extensive Wine List. Taste Kerry Food Ambassador 2017, The Michelin Guide 2017, McKenna Guides (Best in Ireland) & Georgina Campbell Guides. Winners of Best Wine Experience Kerry 2015, 2016, 2017. We also cater for intimate weddings, special family celebrations and wine tastings.
Reviewed 3 November 2018

This very old converted church is stunning. The Restaurant was very busy and staff were welcoming and attentitive.
Food was delicious. Yes is is called "Tapas Bar" but the menu was extensive with many choices other than Tapas, would definently recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maureen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit and loved everything about it. I am coeliac, they were so accommodating and I enjoyed a selection of tapas. Lovely staff, great atmosphere and beautiful building. Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank 756annetteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit and I was very impressed, the restaurant is a converted church with great atmosphere. The staff really looked after our very large table and we thoroughly enjoyed our evening, nothing was to much trouble. They have a set menu and a tapas menu which I opted for, all the dishes were very tasty and portions were generous. I would highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Chantelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

Stumbled on this place by accident and was so impressed we ate there twice during a week long stay in Killorglin. Don't let the tapas tag put you off as the menu is very varied and dishes, mostly featuring excellent local produce, can be ordered for singular rather than group consumption. The setting is simply stunning and the staff, particularly Linda, are very pleasant and accommodating. Prices are excellent also.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

Great tapas and good friendly service. A beautifully converted church now a really good tapas and wine bar. The food was really good, plenty of it and great taste.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mabaker13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Killorglin, County Kerry
 
Killorglin, County Kerry
 
Killorglin, County Kerry
Killorglin, County Kerry
 

Been to Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing