We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carrygerry Country House
Ranked #1 of 10 Shannon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Homely”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed in Carrygerry Country House on Friday night last, we were a party of four.

We were shown to our rooms which were so cosy with Four Poster beds. Before dinner we had pre dinner drinks in the bar beside the bar. Gillian was so nice. Niall her husband is the chef and dinner was so good, too good.

Would highly recommend Carrygerry as a place for wedding reception or private family function as they have a beautiful function room and courtyard with a built in barbeque. They were getting ready for a busy day as we left on Saturday with Communion lunches and a private birthday function in the evening.

This would also be a perfect place to stay if you were using Shannon airport as its only about 15 mins away. Niall the chef also makes his owns Jams and Marmalade which they sell(red onion marmalade is beautiful)

Will definitely be back again
Thanks Gillian, Niall & Family

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wacky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    55
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
74
180
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Co Clare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Delighted to have had our daughters First Holy Communion lunch here. We arrived to find a real gem of a country house with beautiful scenery and we were well looked after from the moment we entered the door. My little girl said they made her feel special. My guests were full of praise of the amazing meal that then followed - first class. Waiting staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We had a group of 10 children with us and Gillian and the staff were very patient and made them feel welcome. Thank you to all for a very special day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jocaces4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Stayed here for one night in March - rooms very cosy and comfortable and the welcome very warm and genuine. A nice county house experience with excellent food. Ideal for a small wedding. Looking forward to returning again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plant City, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

the level of service was outstanding, Gillian could not be more helpful she made this trip an oustanding experiece for my sister and I. the honesty of the staff was also outstanding when I lost some money a staff member found it and returned it to me. This level of courtsey should be rewarded.

Room Tip: there are no bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmeeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
white plains, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We used this delightful country house as a means to catch an early flight out of Shannon. Service was delightful and gracious Lovely lounges to relax in and have a cup of tea. Dinner was graciously severed. Dinner was fine but not exceptional. Probably 3.5 stars. Atmosphere was very pleasant

The only knock was the key/locks to our outside rooms which were cumbersome and difficult to operate

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjmwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shannon
3.8 km away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
790 reviews
3.0 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
7.6 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Bunratty Castle Hotel
Bunratty Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bunratty
1,396 reviews
7.8 km away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
403 reviews
4.6 km away
Shannon Springs Hotel
Shannon Springs Hotel
#3 of 3 in Shannon
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carrygerry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carrygerry Country House

Property: Carrygerry Country House
Address: Newmarket-on-Fergus | near Shannon Airport, Shannon, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Shannon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Shannon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Carrygerry Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carrygerry Country House has 11 bedrooms with a restaurant which is open for dinner from Tuesday to Saturday each week. Licenced bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Carrygerry Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrygerry Country House Hotel Shannon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing