We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The BEST Place in all of IRELAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Faul House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Faul House
Ranked #7 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The BEST Place in all of IRELAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The only bad thing I can say is that we only stayed one night. My family of 5 (kids 15, 13 ,13) stayed here one night June 15 and could not have asked for a better place. The town of Clifden is a beautiful gem where you could spend days relaxing. The house is close to Kylemore Abbey which is a must see. The best part of Sea Dew is the grounds. I wanted to stay forever on the fields across the street from house. It is the most beautiful scenery and friendliest horses. You can lose yourself to total relaxation sitting on the hills. Try to make sure to bring a treat for the horses. The sitting room of the house was also great and relaxing. We loved the peat fire and talking with the hosts. When I want to relax during my crazy life - I will picture myself at Faul House! The rooms are large and comfortable. You can have the relaxation of the farm and the nightlife in the town with many pubs and music. There are also many nice shops.

Besides the best B&B, Kathleen makes the best Irish soda bread I have ever tasted. Breakfast was great with the eggs fresh from their yard and the excellent bread.

Again - I can not say enough about how great this place is. Please try to stay more than one night at this perfect spot. If I were to go back to Ireland, I would only stay here.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haleybale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    13
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
83
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perry, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

We are a young family with 2 children ages 10 and 14. After spending the afternoon on Inish Mor, we travelled from Rosseveel to Clifden on the N59. This drive, the Lakes of Killarney, and the Dingle Penninsula are the prettiest drives we had in 12 days in Ireland. Connemara has left the most enduring imprint on my memory. Faul house is GREAT!!. Very nice B and B; great breakfast. A 5 min stroll to the ocean; beautiful area!!! This is a must stay when in Clifden; great for families!!! Kathleen and Micheal are great Innkeepers as they pay attention to details.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GCLAN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitka, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

loved the peat fire! the owners, Kathleen and Michael, are friendly, knowledgable, and good-humored....when in Clifden, i will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CelticMel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

My husband and I arrived at Faul House as strangers and four days later we left as friends! Kathleen and Michael cheerfully welcomed us into their charming farmhouse a day earlier than we had booked, and with remembrance of their stellar hospitality and incredible warmth, our stay with them is indelibly etched in our book of memories forever.
Faul House is set peacefully in the countryside a short drive down a very narrow country lane.....easily navigated with very little chance of much traffic. It's proximity to Clifden was perfect, and as well, a good home base for further explorations.
Our spacious bedroom with it's pastoral view of the surrounding countryside, it's comfortable bed piled high with the finest of woolen blankets (so cozy I just had to buy one to take home!), and a spotless and modern bathroom, we soon forgot the rain, wind and storms outside the window.
Coming back from a day exploring the beauty of Connemara and surrounds, and walking into the warmth of the lounge, with a peat fire stoked in the fireplace was a cheery welcome respite from the the unfortunate weather, but even under better circumstances, it still would have been that touch of home one can long for when travelling.
We were encouraged to enjoy visiting Michael's Connemara ponies, the chickens and the new family of ducks that have taken up residence at Faul House; and for a nice end to a days touring, take a short walk down the country lane which leads to a tiny, picturesque cove.....along the way, you'll meet a playful neighbourhood puppy looking for someone to play ball with!
Kathleen and Michael readily assisted with suggestions as to what we should include in our explorations......thanks to them, we delighted in visiting Ballynahinch Castle Hotel, Roundstone, the Alcock and Brown memorial, and Kylemore Abbey. The suggestion that our round trip from Ballynahinch include a drive across the Bog Road was definitely a highlight.
Both of us agree that our stay with Kathleen and Michael at Faul House was definitely one of the highlights of our 21 day trip in Ireland; for sure the fairies had sprinkled some "luck of the Irish" on us!

Room Tip: Second floor, left of the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nanajo42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed with Kathleen and Michael for three nights but wished that we had arranged to stay longer.
If you visit Ireland, you must visit Connemara, and if you visit Connemara you MUST stay with Kathleen and Michael.
Kathleen and Michael are what is the best about Ireland. You will not find a better welcome, better accomodation, a better breakfast, or a better bed (difficult to get out of in the mornings)
We plan to return September next year.
( Michael, if you read this, remember to re order the oil next time and Kathleen practice your fire lighting skills)

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent (we tried two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devonclanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
6.9 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
8.3 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#2 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
10.5 km away
Sharamore House B&B
Sharamore House B&B
#8 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
9.0 km away
Connemara Country Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faul House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faul House

Property: Faul House
Address: Ballyconneely, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Faul House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing