We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cream of the crop” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 50 Clifden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cream of the crop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I stayed in Buttermilk Lodge while on a cycling tour with friends. The staff were extremly friendly and welcoming. The location was perfect right beside Clifden. The staff were able to provide us information about the local area. I shared a twin room with my friend the room was perfect spacious and clean. I had the full Irish for breakfast and it was excellent. I would highly recommend Buttermilk Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andydoyle9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
127
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Clean and convenient to the downtown area. We started a bicycle tour from the BB. the rooms were quiet and large. The shower was warm, but not hot. The sitting included board games and a peat fire place. Many choices for breakfast, all were well received. Host was willing to dry wet clothes for us. Wi fi cut in and out, but was free. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bike4Life_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2011

Our stay at Buttermilk Lodge in May 2011 was great. Catriona and Patrick were very welcoming hosts. The variety of choices for breakfast were great and very tasty. Our room was beautiful and even had a view! The "cow" theme throughout was delightful and the lounge room with wonderful peat burning fireplace was a wonderful touch. We will recommend Buttermilk Lodge to any friends who will be travelling to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, Essex, England
Level Contributor
111 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My wife and I stayed here whilst touring Ireland. Warm welcome from hosts, with tea and cakes on arrival. Always good advice and guidance available if required. Local restaurant menus in the residents lounge. Room was lovely and comfortable with great views across the countryside. Pleasant short stroll (about 5 minutes) into town. Plenty of restaurants and pubs to choose from. Would stay here again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

Indeed. I've been to a couple of B&Bs in Ireland and I have to say that this is definitely the best of them. It has everything a B&B ought to have: a cosy lounge with a fireplace and tea and coffee making facilities (available 24/7), very good and diversified (for a B&B) meals, comfortable and quiet rooms, plethora of useful information about Clifden and Connemara (everything ranging from history and culture, through information on places of interest, to maps and handy telephone numbers), internet access (Wi-Fi + a stationary PC), big parking lot, lovely atmosphere (I loved the cow motive:)) and extremely nice proprietors, ready to provide help with anything.
Well recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Q-boot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.7 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.5 km away
Clifden Station House
2.7 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 km away
Ben View House
Ben View House
#1 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
1.6 km away
Hillside Lodge
Hillside Lodge
#4 of 50 in Clifden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Address: Westport Road, Clifden, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Clifden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm,friendly home from home located just 400 meters, 5 minutes walk from the town center. Purpose built ,Spacious, quality accommodation at affordable prices, WiFi throughout the house. There is a computer with broadband internet access and a printer for guests use. Our extensive breakfast menu offers numerous choices to suit every taste ! Visit our Connemara Ponies and Black-face sheep on our farm nearby.Pat is a qualified walking guide and can help you in planning your walks in the area.Packed Lunches, early breakfasts,laundry service, drying facilities are all available.Our little extra touches ensure return visits ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing