We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
184
107
52
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
107
52
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towntransatlantic flightcentral locationstreet parkingresidents barnext morningexcellent locationcould not have been more helpfulstayed here for one nightroom was spaciouslovely hotelgreat weekendcooked breakfasta lovely staybreakfast was excellentdining roomtop class
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 16 family members staying for a sponsored walk. My nephew managed to walk the 12 bens twice. So 24 bens in 24 hours. This trip was to raise money for Irish cancer society. The Alcock and Brown were so instrumental in the success of this trip. From constant emailing on the booking to delivering a truly first class service. Sharon and Declan the friendly owners could not have done more to accommodate us with our large group. The hotel was so homely comfy and all staff members were exceptional. From helping us hide Easter eggs for our Easter egg hunt to providing food out side of regular hours. Another Sharon, coincidentally the managers name, couldn't have helped us more. From organising complimentary packed lunches for our 5.30am walk time to keeping all our group superbly looked after with a chat and a smile and endless local info.
The food on the bar restaurant was delicious. From hearty stew to the best fish and chips I've ever tasted. The mussels were totally amazing in a sauce good enough to drink! Breakfast was sincerely one of the tastiest cooked Irish breakfasts that I've ever enjoyed. Freshly cooked scrambled eggs to order Sausages cooked freshly Mushrooms that were delicious. A truly heart warming start to the day with excellent freshly brewed coffee !
The entire experience in Clifton was amazing and our stay at the Alcock and Brown made this trip so memorable. We will be back. Thank you to all the management and staff for looking after us so well

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcockandbrown, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your experience at our hotel. It was our pleasure to meet with all of you and hear of your adventures on the 12 Bens. We were very happy to facilitate you in any way we could to make your stay an enjoyable one. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming all of you back here again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Lovely place, well situated, great value, charming hosting. My family always stays here when we travel to western Ireland. Fantastic location and really nice staff. You can walk across the street to multiple pubs. Great parking too !

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clif C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcockandbrown, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you continue the family tradition and will be happy to welcome you any time. Kind regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Alcock and Brown on a quiet Sunday night in early March. From the moment we arrived Marie (a lovely lady from France) made us feel most welcome and comfortable. Clifden was the first stop on our trip through the west and we were very impressed with the service we received. On the Sunday evening, we arrived and we were in desperate need of food so we decided to dine in the bar area of the hotel. We both had the fish and chips and settled in to a nice cosy corner to watch what was on TV, the fish was presented in a lovely way and we both enjoyed it. The bed was massive and extremely comfortable. My only slight issue is that I felt the temperature in the shower was too low for my liking however my boyfriend thought it was perfect. Breakfast the next morning had a lovely continental buffet selection and the full Irish breakfasts we had kept us both full until lunchtime. I would definitely recommend the Alcock and Brown to any of my friends and family traveling to Clifden.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcockandbrown, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thanks for your complimentary review of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the near future and appreciate you recommending to your friends. All are welcome!
Kind regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

Was here Saturday night with my wife, a cosy restaurant right on the square. My wife had the homemade burger and i had their house curry, both were delicious with good sized portions. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Peterparker33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcockandbrown, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, staff and service. Hope to see you back here soon again.
|Kind regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

The reception/bar/restaurant people were all truly great. Friendly and helpful. What more can you ask for? the room has all the basics and we had a great extended weekend. We'd return here in a heartbeat.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JNadaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcockandbrown, Reception at Alcock & Brown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thanks for your complimentary review of our hotel and staff. We look forward to your return very soon.
Kind regards,
Aideen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews