We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clifden Glen Holiday Village -the good and the bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clifden Glen

Clifden Glen
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clifden
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clifden Glen
Belfast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clifden Glen Holiday Village -the good and the bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 through Dream Ireland. What was good? Interior of the house was very clean and the house was comfortable. Great to have own tennis court, crazy golf and pub on site. Walk behind the holiday village alongside the river is beautiful. Now the bad- We stayed in number 48. On arrival the exterior of the house is not well kept, walls very dirty and the windows were rotting ,yes rotting!. Interior is basic but have to question the shortage of pillows, no wine glasses , there was a patio table out the back but no chairs
We still had a great time in Clifden but dont go here if you are expecting 3/4 star self catering accommodation. I have to question why a reputable company such as Dream Ireland would be associated with a property which looked so run down on the outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank damo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette L, General Manager at Clifden Glen, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your review of our property at Clifden Glen. We are pleased to hear that you found the interior of the property clean and comfortable and enjoyed the facilities on offer. With regard to the exterior of the property we can advise that many of the properties at Clifden Glen have patches of moss growing on the pebble dash finish due to the climate and location and whilst we do periodically clean down the properties it is a natural occurrence. I note your comments regarding two of the external window frames – these are due for repair and I hope this did not affect your enjoyment of the actual property itself. Our staff on site maintain a stock of replacement items, spares and bed linens and are happy to supply on request in the event of equipment missing from the property or breakages. We are currently replacing much of our garden furniture due to breakages and weather deterioration and all properties will be equipped with outside seating.

We do hope to welcome you back to Clifden Glen in the future and thank you for your feedback.

Annette Lindsay
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Stayed for a few days at the Clifden Glen in July and didn't have any issues. House was basic but perfect for our needs. We were in full view of the lovely kids playground and the tennis courts. There was Tennis coaching on for the kids the week we arrived and is well worth checking out.
There is a well kept green area for playing ball and a wee golf area that the kids loved. It is a great area to base yourself if touring around the Clifden area. Beaches at Roundstone and Ballyconnelly worth a visit. We also went to Claddaghduff where you can walk to Omegh Island. Check tide times with the locals.
Happy days spent here and we found the staff more that helpful..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GalwayGirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Outside of the weather we had a nice experience in 72, we had an issue with the main bedroom door not closing but otherwise satisfied. Ideal for children, they made loads of friends in the tennis courts and playground and we'll return there again. The decking was great, we got a couple of nice summer evenings at least.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Surprised at the negative comments as we had a lovely break here. Stayed in number 89 organised through the owner Karen who was really helpful. The house was clean, in good repair and nicely decorated. I'd brought some kitchen bits and pieces but needn't have bothered as the house was well equipped. The decking area overlooking the river was particularly nice. All in all it was just like a home away from home and I'd definitely come back. Clifden is one of the nicest spots in Ireland and this was a perfect base for exploring

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SilverDillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

Hi,

I am amazed at the three previous reviews regarding Clifden Glen, we stayed in a wonderful three bed with two showers all working with power.....central heating sky TV and barbecue on the decking totally handy having the clubhouse to go for a few beers while the kids played on the green and played a game of tennis....just goes to show you that beauty is in the eye of the beholder and based on individual perception...I am going back next August and got a 20% early booking discount.

The mattresses were the business I had a look for my home sealy.....happy days

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinAudrey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Clifden hotels
0.0 km away
Clifden Station House
0.0 km away
Clifden Town Hostel
Clifden Town Hostel
#5 of 13 in Clifden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
0.0 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 km away
Buttermilk Lodge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifden Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifden Glen

Property: Clifden Glen
Address: Sky Road, Clifden, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clifden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Clifden
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing