We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible but not good enough!”

The Old Schoolhouse
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Inistioge
Description: The Old Schoolhouse is an excellent place to eat and relax in one of the most scenic locations you will find in the South East of Ireland.
Restaurant details
Description: The Old Schoolhouse is an excellent place to eat and relax in one of the most scenic locations you will find in the South East of Ireland.
Reviewed 3 September 2019

Not dought this little place does have an old school charm. It even smells old, like your old grandaunts house, a musty damp smell.

The young lady serving was lovely and professional no complaints about the service.

The food however was basic, very basic. It is of a standard you would have received in Ireland 20 years ago, which was not great. It's way behind what I would expect in any cafe I visit in Ireland, the prices are however right up to date and even above average. Thankfully this standard of low quality, badly presented food is no longer common. It is a pity because this place does have potential. It just seems to be lacking the energy and passion to bring it up to date.

I don't think I will return again.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Ray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2019

Stopped off for a morning coffee and fresh baked scones. Sat outside looking across to the park and the river. Lovely coffee, pleasant staff, good value for money. Gluten free options available (my friend had gf toast with her tea). Inistioge is a sweet little village to explore with lovely river walks. Would have stopped here for lunch for sure if we had been around.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2019 via mobile

Apple tart and scones delicious likewise coffee and tea. Reasonably priced and positioned in front of park and river. Staff friendly and efficient. Can be busy as you enter cafe but don't let that put you off as the position of the counter could lead to a build up of people deciding what to eat. Homely and welcoming.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jeanymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2019

The Old schoolhouse is a quaint little spot in a beautiful location. A group of three of us rambled along here for morning coffee and were pleasantly surprised. The staff serving us were very special, friendly and efficient. In addition, the coffee was excellent and we three are picky about our coffee. A nice little feature is that a selection of second hand books were on sale in the coffee shop, the money being raised for charity. To top it all, the day was one of those pet sunny days so we were able to linger at an outside table to enjoy the world go by. Perfect.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2019 via mobile

Nice spot tasty food and snacks. Very clean and friendly staff. €3.50 for filtered coffee a bit on the pricey side of things me feels..

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank shelldrakeDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Schoolhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Old Schoolhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.