We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food - excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Spaniard

The Spaniard
Ranked #19 of 73 Restaurants in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice food - excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We popped into the Spaniard while strolling around Kinsale and the barmaid was so nice that we booked dinner that very evening.

We had the bar menu special and the food was really nice. I had the fish and my other half had the chicken. We shared icecream for dessert.
Our waitress was really friendly and helpful and we were really looked after.

The only small downfall was that when we got home our clothes smelled like they'd been in a chip shop all evening so we had to wash everything!
Very odd- but we still enjoyed our visit to the Spaniard.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    139
    33
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Great Find !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Recently visited Kinsale with my Mom & sister, we were recommended the Spaniard as the best bar in the area, and to be honest once we got there we never left. We met up at 5pm on a windy March Friday afternoon and were welcomed by very warm & hospitable staff. The pub had cosy corners, with log fires, traditional sawdust on the floor and oouzed old world charm.
As an hour or so went by, we notice a number of local’s arrive who appeared to be regular customers, they were very friendly & great fun.
We were so settle and snug and with the waft of delicious smell vaporising from the kitchen, we decided to settle in and have our dinner their restaurant, rather than have to make a decision on picking one of Kinsale’s fine restaurants.
One of the local customers recommends the French onion soup as the best you’ll find in Ireland… I have to say it lived up to its reputation. Between us we had a selection of chicken, lamb & beef dishes, all of which had the home cooked feel, but with the quality & flavour of fine dining. Yummie !!
We returned to the bar, after our meal and joined in with a local Traditional Music session. I have travelled to Kinsale on a number of occasions, but never travelled the 10 minute walk to the Spaniard, Our 5pm arrival to Kinsale drink ended up with a fantastic night until 1; 30am in the Spaniard. We had a fantastic night and the Spaniard will definitely see me again.


Aine, Tralee , Co. Kerry

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AineBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

great pub grub - atmospheric pub a bit off the beaten track in Kinsale - i would say its above average but at the same time would hesitate to say its very good, because its a bit cramped the atmosphere feels a bit pre-organised, with trad music for tourists the last night I was there, but a pub well worth having a pint in and also very good food for a pub.

Helpful?
Thank MaroonedinCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GReat for sessions but not for food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Looks like a greta spot ofr amusic sessions- lots of plaques and awards for Black & White trad music pub of the year- frsh sawdust on the floor bit touristy- pub grub suring the day was pricey- battered cod and chips- frozen chips and what tasted very like Batchelors peas- not impressed at all. Nice pub would go back at night for music.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank maggiem00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite a hike, but great views.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Did not have dinner here, but enjoyed Irish coffee and dessert. Lovely setting, but the walk is straight up hill so be prepared.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherryH0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Spaniard also viewed

 
Kinsale, County Cork
 

Been to The Spaniard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing