We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming spot in the right room!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We were first directed to ground floor room with no view and stank of smoke We asked to moved which was no problem at all and we got a lovely room overlooking the bay, however we waited over an hour in the bar waiting for it and had to ask eventually was it ready which it was at 5:30, we arrived at hotel at 4.. We ordered chips and bread rolls in bar and the bread never turned up? Also at dinner there was no wine menu when we were seated as someone was using it?? Over all though we thoroughly enjoy staying here, beautiful spot, luxury room and very friendly kind staff.. Will defo go back for a 3 rd stay ..

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bernice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsKinsale, Manager at Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Many thanks for your review of the Macdonald Kinsale Hotel and Spa, I welcome feedback both positive and not so. I appreciate all of your feedback to help us improve our product.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 237 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2017

I'd highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing get away ! Staff we're excellent, we arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready so because I'd a baby with me the reception put us in a ready room which was a great help! Lovely view from some of the rooms and lovely walks around the hotel. Food was also excellent, will deff take a trip here again

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsKinsale, Manager at Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

I was pleased to read that you did enjoy Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa and my fantastic and hardworking staff. I do hope we see you back with us real soon.

Best Wishes
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting, with friendly staff, lovely room, relaxing lobby and great leisure facilities, nice parkland walk around the hotel, good value and a lovely place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 17Nilest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsKinsale, Manager at Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Many Thanks for your very kind review of the Macdonald Kinsale Hotel and Spa it is truly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to hear that our Guests enjoy our hotel and service we offer.

Kind Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Such a peaceful location in a beautiful setting. Asked for room with bay view and got it. Beautiful. Very friendly receptionist very welcoming. Room very comfortable and bathroom also. Didn't try spa treatments but will definitely come back again and stay longer and use all the facilities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 517maureenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsKinsale, Manager at Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Many Thanks for your kind review of the Macdonald Kinsale Hotel and Spa it is very much appreciated.
I was extremely pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Wishes
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Couple of days break in January with my partner. Upon arrival, the hotel looks wonderful, both inside and out. Our room was lovely no complaints there, clean, lovely bed and welcoming. Breakfast the first morning was utterly disappointing, barely warm, not very nice. The staff in the hotel seem, uninterested, on slow mo. Dinner the second night was included, again, utterly disappointing, (already made a review for the rock pool restaurant). The staff in the hotel were young and just didn't seem to Handel the work, although it wasn't busy, tables left I cleaned, bar filling with used glasses.
The hotel itself was beautiful, and on stunning grounds, however wouldn't recommend eating here, spectacular restaurants in kinsale for half the price and delicious food.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsKinsale, Manager at Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Many thanks for your review of the Macdonald Kinsale Hotel and Spa, I welcome feedback both positive and not so. I appreciate all of your feedback to help us improve our product.

Kind regards

Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel Kinsale
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
964 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,594 reviews
Perryville House
#6 of 53 in Kinsale
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa

Address: Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range: €74 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa is set on 90 acres of mature wooded parkland with panoramic views overlooking Oysterhaven Bay, this luxury Kinsale hotel is committed to providing the highest standards and take pride in their tranquil surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Kinsale Hotel Kinsale
Carlton Kinsale Hotel And Spa
Carlton Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing