We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming spot in the right room!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming spot in the right room!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We were first directed to ground floor room with no view and stank of smoke We asked to moved which was no problem at all and we got a lovely room overlooking the bay, however we waited over an hour in the bar waiting for it and had to ask eventually was it ready which it was at 5:30, we arrived at hotel at 4.. We ordered chips and bread rolls in bar and the bread never turned up? Also at dinner there was no wine menu when we were seated as someone was using it?? Over all though we thoroughly enjoy staying here, beautiful spot, luxury room and very friendly kind staff.. Will defo go back for a 3 rd stay ..

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bernice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    103
    61
    27
    22
See reviews for
98
169
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I'd highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing get away ! Staff we're excellent, we arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready so because I'd a baby with me the reception put us in a ready room which was a great help! Lovely view from some of the rooms and lovely walks around the hotel. Food was also excellent, will deff take a trip here again

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful hotel in a lovely setting, with friendly staff, lovely room, relaxing lobby and great leisure facilities, nice parkland walk around the hotel, good value and a lovely place for a weekend break.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 17Nilest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Laois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Such a peaceful location in a beautiful setting. Asked for room with bay view and got it. Beautiful. Very friendly receptionist very welcoming. Room very comfortable and bathroom also. Didn't try spa treatments but will definitely come back again and stay longer and use all the facilities. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 517maureenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couple of days break in January with my partner. Upon arrival, the hotel looks wonderful, both inside and out. Our room was lovely no complaints there, clean, lovely bed and welcoming. Breakfast the first morning was utterly disappointing, barely warm, not very nice. The staff in the hotel seem, uninterested, on slow mo. Dinner the second night was included, again, utterly disappointing, (already made a review for the rock pool restaurant). The staff in the hotel were young and just didn't seem to Handel the work, although it wasn't busy, tables left I cleaned, bar filling with used glasses.
The hotel itself was beautiful, and on stunning grounds, however wouldn't recommend eating here, spectacular restaurants in kinsale for half the price and delicious food.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Address: Rathmore Road, Kinsale, Ireland (Formerly Carlton Hotel & C Spa Kinsale)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa is set on 90 acres of mature wooded parkland with panoramic views overlooking Oysterhaven Bay, this luxury Kinsale hotel is committed to providing the highest standards and take pride in their tranquil surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Kinsale Hotel Kinsale
Carlton Kinsale Hotel And Spa
Carlton Hotel Kinsale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing