We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very pleasant stay, can't fault it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Actons Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Actons Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay, can't fault it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a very enjoyable stay here. Our room was very comfortable on 3rd floor with sea view. Bed very big and cosy. Freshly painted room. Friendly reception staff.
Great views of harbour. We hope to return.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MODireland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWrixon, General Manager at Actons Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear MODireland2010,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding the staff, the views and our hotel rooms. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Tomas Wrixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    297
    78
    13
    8
See reviews for
152
433
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Although there was a big event on in the hotel, we were made to feel special and received devoted and helpful service by all the staff. We refreshed ourselves with a bowl of hot creamy vegetable soup and a toasted chicken sandwich was down with gallons of tea and red lemonade.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christophernewman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWrixon, General Manager at Actons Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear christophernewman44,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your recent review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your meal and found the staff to be helpful. We strive to treat every guest equally and it's great that you felt that our staff really looked after you during you visit.We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Tomas Wrixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spotlessly clean modern rooms although air-conditioning should be considered. Room was very hot even with the desk fan on and windows open. Staff very friendly and helpful and food was fabulous. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loualan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for one night last year and again this year. Beautiful view of the harbour. Staff were welcoming and very attentive. Lovely room and beds. Ideal for a night/weekend away. Central to everything Kinsale town has to offer. Breakfast is free and the restaurant/bar is definitely worth a visit.

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cesf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWrixon, General Manager at Actons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear cesf89, Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed both of your stays here in Kinsale . I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your comments on your bedroom, breakfast and our friendly and attentive staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Tomas Wrixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We spent two nights here in December for my wife's birthday. Room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and very spacious. Had all the usual amenities like tea/coffee, TV, shower gel and shampoos.

The hotel is in a perfect location right near the centre of the town. It has a lovely modern bar serving all the main beers and the local Blacks of Kinsale. It has a pretty impressive wall of whiskey's and gin's which will suit most needs.

Breakfast was the choice of cereals, meats and cheeses etc. they have a hot menu also so you can have the fry or pancakes/waffles and other treats. i stuck with the pancakes which were amazing and certainly recommend them. My wife had the fry the first morning and poached eggs the second. Neither of us disappointed.

All the staff were very friendly and professional. The manager was in the bar the first night and was over chatting to all customers which is nice to see.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theredarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWrixon, General Manager at Actons Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear theredarmy, Thank you for your recent review about your stay here at Actons Hotel.

I really appreciate your kind comments about the hotel, the location, the food and our staff. I am very pleased that you were so impressed with your stay.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you and your wife back in the future.

Kind regards,
Tomas Wrixon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Blue Haven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Old Bank House
#14 of 54 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actons Hotel

Property: Actons Hotel
Address: Pier Road, Kinsale, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Actons Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actons of Kinsale is situated in the heart Kinsale with its maze of narrow winding streets, interesting craft shops, cosy pubs and art galleries, many reflecting the influences of the French, Spanish and British who all played a part in the town’s chequered history. In Kinsale, you can golf, sail, fish, clay-pigeon shoot, walk, explore historic sites, visit local museums.Known for its wonderful friendly atmosphere, Actons of Kinsale is a period building of great character, splendidly overlooking Kinsale’s beautiful harbour.Actons of Kinsale have 74 en-suite bedrooms, many enjoy superb harbour views. Each room has multi-channel tv, radio, telephone, hair dryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Sidney's Bar & Brasserie serves food daily.The Health&Fitness Club boasts a 15 meter indoor heated pool, sauna, steam room, whirlpool spa, techno gym and reflexology/massage facilities. A kiddie pool keeps the younger members happy while massage jets are perfect for after a round of golf!Afull range of beauty and holistic treatments are offered by our trained therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Actons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing