We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (814)
Filter reviews
814 results
Traveller rating
415
236
100
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
236
100
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift fish pie live music pillow menu street parking lovely meal great music eggs benedict middle of town hotel bar top class boutique hotel two nights lovely room central location following morning the pub
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 814 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We had to stay in the hotel due to an unexpected snag in taking occupation of a new apartment nearby in Kinsale. So it was a grudge purchase, and we didn't expect much. We hadn't been into the Haven yet, I suppose because it takes time to work one's way around all the pubs and hostelries of Kinsale, so we had no idea what to expect. Suffice to say, if we had had high expectations they would have been met. Our room was spacious and well appointed, probably the best of our trip (we had just been on a business trip which involved 5 Hiltons and 2 excellent B&B's) so this is high praise. Breakfasts were a little above average, I'd say, and on the night we dined in the hotel the food was excellent. Staff and service were excellent at all times. Perhaps we were just lucky, but the live music in the bar/lounge on the evenings we were there was of the highest quality. Hopefully we won't have to stay again, but we'll have no hesitation in recommending it to visitors, and we'll definitely be back for drinks and music.

Room tip: Room 11 was spacious and well appointed. It faces the street, but noise wasn't a problem. It may be in the summer high season.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbankhousekinsale, Owner at Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us this positive feedback. Its great to hear your feedback and that we reached your high expectations. We are delighted to hear that you liked your room, enjoyed your meals, live music and found our staff to be excellent.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and once again thank you for this fantastic feedback.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2019

Dear friends celebrating an anniversary and we surprised them, no idea we were joking them them for a few days.
The second we walked into the hotel it was clear that it deserved 5 star. Staff, rooms and food excellent. So friendly and efficient well done Blue Gaven made our visit most memorable.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbankhousekinsale, Owner at Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us this positive feedback. We are delighted to hear your feedback and that you think we deserve 5 stars and that all areas met your expectations including staff, food, rooms and friendliness.
We are thrilled to hear it made your visit more memorable.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

Food is good. Well priced. Staff are efficient and friendly. Not very child friendly though. Not sure what the rooms are like. Have only ever eaten there. One of the more reasonably priced hotels in kinsale when it comes to dining out.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 80sCorkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

Nice staff- music in the bar and a clean comfortable room. Perfect. This is the third time I have stayed here- each time consistently good and well priced.
Well located in town Centre - parking is haphazard but easy in the winter

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank duffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranKinsale, Owner at Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thanks for taking the time to give us this positive feedback. Im delighted to hear this was your third time staying with us and each time you enjoyed it.
Thank you again for your feedback and staying with us.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2019

my Husband and I visited Kinsale in January after being in cork with a group of friends. Booking into the Blue Haven hotel was an added bonus. We were kindly upgraded to a fabulous room as the hotel was not at full occupancy. The staff were friendly and engaging and could not do enough to help. We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening and we were not disappointed, the menu was well thought out and the food was beautifully presented and well cooked. Kinsale itself is a lovely town with friendliest of people, it was not our first visit and certainly won’t be our last. I recommend the Blue Haven highly.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 643valr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CiaranKinsale, Owner at Blue Haven Hotel Kinsale, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2019

Thanks for taking the time to give us this fantastic feedback. Im delighted to hear all this feedback and that it was an added bonus staying with us. Thank you for your recommendations also. We will certainly pass this information onto our great team.
Thank you again for your feedback and staying with us.
We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews