We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food...??? hit and miss.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Haven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Haven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“food...??? hit and miss.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

i've dined 3 times now in the last 6 months at the blue haven and i have to say that after having a very good and enjoyable first experience at this establishment i am sorry to say the last 2 times i have eaten here have been a big let down, why do places fall so flat on levels of consistency, i have had the salmon 3 times as a main and there has been a huge difference in quality and overall enjoyment, each time what came out on the plate made me wish i had just gone to mac donalds instead. i will not be dining there again, standards are not being met and kept it seems,service just ok,nothing to write home about. why can't a good kitchen STAY GOOD..is that too much to ask...prices stay the same yet quality and standards take a nose dive....

Room Tip: go else where for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    191
    91
    32
    16
See reviews for
98
306
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castlebellingham, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We have just spent three very relaxing days in Kinsale with relations from England who were celebrating a 75th birthday. Each member of staff in the Blue Haven Hotel were really friendly and helpful. The food was fabulous...better still, we were informed that we could purchase their mouthwatering chowder and pate locally before we went home! Our room and bed were so comfortable. This was a second visit after a gap of many years and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieTherese2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n yorks
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

we stayed here with another couple and could not fault the place comfortable rooms friendly efficient service very nice meals evening entertainment and good location and good value for money {on a 2day over55s package}

Room Tip: just ask for what you would like you will get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosieNYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend last weekend. Yes, as others have said, the room was small, but for the price and location we did not mind at all. And although it was small, it was a lovely room- quite quirky and boutique-y without being overly so. I'm not sure what kind of beds they have, but they are exceptionally comfortable- notably so! There is a fantastic breakfast (served until 10.30), and limitless evening dining options. We didn’t dine there in the evening as we had booked into FishyFishy, but we did have a drink in Aperitif after dinner which is also owned by the Blue Haven and this too is fantastic.

There was a lovely Australian girl who checked us in and out, and all other staff were pleasant too. Apart from the barman who sold us a bottle of wine but then wouldnt allow us drink it in the residents bar!! Mind you, it was 3am so probably time for bed anyhow- but i would have rathered he didn’t sell us the wine at all in that case! My only other complaint would be that the shower pressure was pretty poor, but all in all a great hotel and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WonkaBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Co. Donegal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Spent one night in the Blue Haven in March 2011 for a friend's wedding.
The room rate was very reasonable and well worth it for the beautiful room I was given.
An extremely comfortable bed, flatscreen tv, trouser press, tea/coffee and a well stocked bathroom with excellent shower made the stay just perfect.
I only ate once in the bar, just before the serivce, but the seafood chowder was to die for.
This was washed down with two pints of smithwicks which were perfectly chilled.
Breakfast was nice the next morning, but I must confess that I was a little 'queasy' and a bit upset not to be able to finish the tasty looking eggs and bacon.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit a beautiful town liek Kinsale.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kinsale hotels
0.4 km away
Actons Hotel
Actons Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.7 km away
Trident Hotel Kinsale
Trident Hotel Kinsale
#2 of 5 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
3.9 km away
Macdonald Kinsale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Old Bank House
Old Bank House
#15 of 55 in Kinsale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 km away
Perryville House
Perryville House
#6 of 55 in Kinsale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.2 km away
Long Quay House
Long Quay House
#17 of 55 in Kinsale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Haven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Haven Hotel

Property: Blue Haven Hotel
Address: 3/4 Pearse Street, Kinsale, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Kinsale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinsale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Haven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique style property in the heart of Kinsale, the Blue Haven graciously combines the charm of old Kinsale with the modern luxuries of today. Each room is individually furnished with exquisite furniture, luxury pocket sprung beds, plasma tvs and finer touches to make each room unique. With a reputation as excellent food, friendly personal service and meticulous attention to detail, each visit is a special one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Haven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Haven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing