We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house with amazing view of the harbour.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Compass Hill House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Kinsale, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Gareth S
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing view of the harbour.”
Reviewed 7 August 2019 for a stay in July 2019

The house is in a wonderful location. In the town but set up on a hill. The views are amazing. There is a decent size sunny back garden that we got to use. The accommodation is full of charm. It is a brief walk to the many restaurants & bars.

We were absolutely delighted with our stay. Hopefully we will get back again.

Date of stay: July 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 Aug 2019
Thank you for your kind words Gareth. Please do keep in touch, and we'l see how we can accommodate you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELAINE100...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We all loved the house ,it is a lovely old house ,with fantastic views over the harbour
The house was very comfortable to stay in ,a week was too short !

Date of stay: August 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
9 Sep 2018
Thank you Elaine and family. You are all very welcome to come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you Alan, such nice words! You are welcome to return any time, and as a returning guest, you qualify for the 10% discount, too.

Hopefully we'll be talking to you again soon.

Marie-Loiuse & Marcus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eurodc
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great funky house and location”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Stayed in Compass Hill House last week as a base for our sailing crew for regatta. The house is charming and really well located within short walking distance of the yacht club and town centre. It does swallow up a large number and had all the facilities we needed to make a great week. Its not the Four Seasons but if you like the charm of a cosy well located house with fantastic views - this is for you!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
Thank you for such nice words, David. You are absolutely right: it ain't the Four Seasons, and we're happy about it too. You are welcome to return anytime. And you can avail of the 10 % discount for returning guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidmade...
Solomons, Maryland
1 review
“The Visit of a Lifetime!”
Reviewed 18 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved every moment of our stay atop Compass Hill. The house is beautiful and the courtyard is so welcoming. We are a family of young adults and two toddlers, and my wife and I, two grayer grandparents. The house was so nice for us. The upstairs parlor has a breathtaking views of Kinsale's harbor, as do the bedrooms. There are fun bricked passages leading down the hill to the nice shops and restaurants which takes only 10 minutes. It is hard to narrow down the highlights, but you feel at home, interesting books and art work in every room. Such a kind town, a 13 year old neighbor serenaded our birthday girl. Thank you Marie-Louise and Marcus! Your home embodies Kinsale's spirit, a highest compliment.

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
What an absolute thrill to read! Thank you so much for appreciating all we have done to make the house a specail place to stay. You are, of course, welcome to return any time you like. Warmest regards - ML & M
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.