We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Stay - 5 Stars”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taracoffe...
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay - 5 Stars”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in November 2017

We recently stayed in Dunowen House for a hen weekend as part of a group of 18 girls and it was a fantastic experience from start to finish!
We were greeted on arrival at the house by Stephen who gave us a tour of the house and how everything worked while he had also set the stove in both living rooms and brought in extra logs. The house exceeded all expectations – while it looks amazing in photos – it simply doesn’t do it justice and it just has to be seen in real life! Every bedroom is spacious and decorated beautifully and each has its own ensuite that would rival any 5 star hotel!
Keva then dropped in some freshly baked homemade scones – a nice touch. (As we were cooking dinner for all that night we tucked these away to add to breakfast the next morning which went down a treat!)

There is ample space for socialising and relaxing downstairs in the house and it is equipped with everything you might need. More than enough crockery and cutlery to cater for large numbers and plenty of space for storage in fridge/freezer/utility room! You are a stone’s throw from the beach and a short car journey to Red Strand beach. We all got out for some fresh air and a lovely walk to clear the heads on the Saturday.
We had an activity come to the house on the Saturday which was lovely to make full use of the house and provided a nice base for a very relaxed day. Stephen came back in to relight the stoves and restock the logs so it was lovely and cosy on a winters afternoon.

The highlight of the weekend was the dinner on the Saturday night. It was so well organised – two weeks before myself and the other bridesmaid picked two starters, two mains and two desserts for the owners to cook (which was very difficult to pick from a wide choice of options – all sounding equally delicious!) Kela and Stephen came in Saturday evening, set the whole dining area and served dinner up to us all. (Including cleaning up everything after – added bonus for us bridesmaids!) The food was 10/10. All the girls are still raving about it and some were even hounding Kela for the recipe!! Another benefit is being able to bring in your own wine to be served with the meal (along of course with food and drink for all the other meals over the weekend)

I couldn’t recommend this venue enough – for a hen weekend or for a big family or group of friends. You feel like you’re miles away when you’re just a short distance from the nearest town of Clon. I can’t wait for another excuse to go back and stay!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2017
Tara, you're a star as are all the group that stayed with us last weekend! Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. It's feedback like this that makes it all worthwhile for us! We are thrilled you all enjoyed the stay and hope to see you back again in the near future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifi D
Ennis, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a large group”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A large group of us stayed in Dunowen for a girls weekend. The house is so luxurious and is decorated beautifully. The beds are extremely comfortable and the bed linen is of very high quality which resulted in two sound nights sleep. The rooms are to the standard of a 5 star hotel.
Everything you need is in the house. There is a large kitchen which is fully equipped with a separate utility room with another fridge! It is an ideal party location as it has a large dining room which catered for all of our group. We were lucky enough to have a meal cooked for us by Kela and Stephen which was absolutely divine.
There is wifi available which is necessary as phone coverage is difficult in most areas of the house.
The area the house is located in is stunningly beautiful. It is a short walk to the cove and a slightly longer walk to the beach. Clonakility is a 20 minute car drive but we loved the house so much we stayed around the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thanks for taking the time to post such a fab review, we really appreciate it! Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kela & Stephen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grainne F
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This property was was outstanding in ever way. Kela & Stephen (the owners) were so helpful & welcoming, from lighting the fire to home made scones - we couldn't have asked for more.
It was like entering another world for the weekend, the decor, the bathrooms, the living rooms & the well equipped kitchen, the biggest problem was choosing which area to relax in. A difficult decision!
We are already planning a return visit to this idyllic hideaway!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2017
Thank you Grainne...we look forward to welcoming you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerrydee
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“5* stay for a luxury hen”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had an incredible stay at this house, which is absolutely 5 star, it was perfect for a hen party which consisted of friends and family. Each of the bedrooms had amazing en suites which are like toilets at a spa resort, the attention to detail in the decorating of the property is incredible.

Kela and Stephen themselves served up an onsite catered 3 course meal which was restaurant quality- if not better. Was blown away by their service and attention.

The ground look amazing, unfortunately the weather stopped us from exploring the gardens, but we were not disheartened to stay inside!

cannot recommend it enough, cant wait to go back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Thanks a million for the fab review and delighted that you enjoyed the house and food so much. Hope we can welcome you back again in the near future. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daisyfair...
County Donegal, Ireland
1 review
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

After a long travel from Donegal, it was a delight to arrive at Orchard Cottage. Beautiful destination, so peaceful and tranquil. The cottage is perfect for a peaceful getaway with beautiful gardens and surroundings. Was beautiful to sit in the garden under the starry sky...many thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2017
Delighted you enjoyed your weekend stay in Orchard Cottage. Come back again and stay for longer next time! Many thanks, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$589
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing