We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless”
other traveller has booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
johndross
manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a Hen Weeken at Dunowen House. The house itself is beautiful. Loads of space and freshly refurbished to a very high standard. Kela and Stephen were very welcoming, we had an online shop delivered and everything was put away by the time we arrived. The dinner included on one night was delicious. One of the joys of its location is it feels like a proper retreat, we hired cars which I would highly recommend. Clonakilty is just 15 mins away and so meant we could stock up on more alcohol! A proper home away from home. I just need to find an excuse to return now - it really is a special place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2017
If we could, we'd give you a 5 Star review as guests - for pure entertainment value alone! Thanks a million for the wonderful review - we certainly hope to see you back again...Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N0irin
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amaaaaaazing!!!!”
Reviewed 20 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We are just back from a Hen Party Weekend there, and I was blown away by the place. I really thought we were going to be victims of false advertising or something because the pics online looked too good to be true...but it was even better in real life!! The house is just stunning, a perfect getaway. Kela and Stephen were also great, they were close by if we needed anything at all, but were not intrusive. We also had dinner on one of the evenings, home cooked by Kela, and it was amazing. All local produce, really fresh and tasty.
We were there for a hen party, but I wouldn't think twice about going back again for some R&R!
Highly recommend for all types of groups/parties - suitable for families too, the house even has a playroom. Book it!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thanks a million for your fab review and for staying with us here - good to know we exceed expectations! Best wishes for the upcoming wedding and hope to see you again in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A super place to stay”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is really beautiful. It is full of history while having every mod con. Very well equipped for cooking. The rooms are fabulous, each one with its own character. Plenty of room for everybody. There is a cove at the end of the lane and when we visited, there was a mobile sauna. Quite an experience to be in a sauna on a cove in Ireland in February, with cool-downs in the Atlantic!
lovely welcome pack of freshly baked scones, tea, coffee, butter, milk and jam. Clonakilty is not too far away where you will find plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks a million Sarah for your feedback. I know you had all sorts of weather during your week with us but fantastic that you even managed a swim in February! We hope to see you back at Dunowen at some stage in the future. Best wishes, Kela & Stephen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marianlou...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Weekend Ever”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is stunning and the perfect venue for a group get together of any kind. My bridesmaids organised the weekend there for my hen. The weekend couldn't have been more perfect. Kela served up an amazing three course meal in the house making dinner very relaxed. The large sitting room was perfect for our group to mix and get to know each other. The house is maintained to an extremely high standard. We had a really comfortable and fun weekend and the only complaint would be that our stay wasn't long enough to enjoy all the house and garden had to offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks Marian! Great to hear you enjoyed your Hen Party weekend here with us. Best wishes for the wedding and hopefully we'll get to see you again in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a hen party”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both the house and the cottage for a hen party. Everyone was so impressed with the house-it was perfect, so luxurious. The house is well equipped with cutlery, serving dishes and glasses. There were home made scones ready on arrival, with teas, coffee, milk, butter and jam being provided. There was loads of room for 28 of us to gather in the house-kela and stephen (the owners) were able to serve a delicious home cooked meal to the whole group in the house. They catered for specific dietary requirements within our group also. The house slept 18, the cottage slept 5 and Kela was very helpful in recommending air bnb for the remaining 5 people. Kela and Stephen were really accomodating, with no request being too big or small for them. They were on hand whenever we needed them, but gave us our own space also.
The location of the house was ideal-nice scenery, and really relaxing. We got a bus into Clonakilty which is approx 10km away. The town is lively, lots of live music in pubs, which are welcoming of hens! There is a nightclub there also for those who aren't ready for home after the pubs! The beach is within walking distance from the house-unfortunately we did not make it due to rain! We definitely hope to return some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review - delighted you all had such a lovely time, despite the weather! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$597
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing