We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Weekend Ever”
other travellers have booked this property
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
Cathedral Room with free-standing bath
Sitting Room with patio doors
Red Strand and Galley Head in the distance
Dunowen House
Noel's Room
Music Room
Noel's Ensuite
Captain's Room
Bathtub in Cathedral Room
Ensuite Bathroom
Studio Bathroom
Dining room with concertina doors to patio
You've Arrived!
In olden times, the bell was rung to summon the seven gardeners of Dunowen House to work
Happy Times
Horse Riding at Dunowen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Clonakilty, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
marianlou...
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Weekend Ever”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is stunning and the perfect venue for a group get together of any kind. My bridesmaids organised the weekend there for my hen. The weekend couldn't have been more perfect. Kela served up an amazing three course meal in the house making dinner very relaxed. The large sitting room was perfect for our group to mix and get to know each other. The house is maintained to an extremely high standard. We had a really comfortable and fun weekend and the only complaint would be that our stay wasn't long enough to enjoy all the house and garden had to offer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks Marian! Great to hear you enjoyed your Hen Party weekend here with us. Best wishes for the wedding and hopefully we'll get to see you again in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a hen party”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We booked both the house and the cottage for a hen party. Everyone was so impressed with the house-it was perfect, so luxurious. The house is well equipped with cutlery, serving dishes and glasses. There were home made scones ready on arrival, with teas, coffee, milk, butter and jam being provided. There was loads of room for 28 of us to gather in the house-kela and stephen (the owners) were able to serve a delicious home cooked meal to the whole group in the house. They catered for specific dietary requirements within our group also. The house slept 18, the cottage slept 5 and Kela was very helpful in recommending air bnb for the remaining 5 people. Kela and Stephen were really accomodating, with no request being too big or small for them. They were on hand whenever we needed them, but gave us our own space also.
The location of the house was ideal-nice scenery, and really relaxing. We got a bus into Clonakilty which is approx 10km away. The town is lively, lots of live music in pubs, which are welcoming of hens! There is a nightclub there also for those who aren't ready for home after the pubs! The beach is within walking distance from the house-unfortunately we did not make it due to rain! We definitely hope to return some day!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review - delighted you all had such a lovely time, despite the weather! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montyrove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Orchard Cottage Small and Perfectly Formed”
Reviewed 27 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you are tempted to stay at Dunowen House but can't fill all the bedrooms, book Orchard Cottage next door also run by Stephen and Kela. Expect a warm friendly welcome, tasteful interior design and everything you need for a relaxed stay. The cottage is warm and very comfortable, you could easily stay for weeks. Nothing is too much trouble! An added bonus is that the nearby Supervalu in Clonakilty is probably the best grocery store in Ireland so our teenagers loved cooking in the evenings using as many local ingredients as possible. Add a bracing walk at Inchydoney beach and you have the makings of the perfect retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
As always, it was a pleasure to welcome you back to Dunowen - delighted you enjoyed your first stay in the Cottage! Looking forward to seeing you again in the future. Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical stay in Dunowen House”
Reviewed 17 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

11 women stayed in the main house for 2 nights in Jan 2017 and we had an amazing time. The space in the house, the setting and the peace & quiet were just magical. All the bedrooms are decorated to the highest standard & so clean and fresh. We went for walks to the nearby coves/beaches and visited the nearby Clonakilty for a few groceries - the Supervalu is well equipped! We were able to come & go as we pleased & the owners supplied firewood for the 2 stoves which gave out great heat- you won't want to leave the house because it's so cosy. You would need a car to get around but if it's a quiet, relaxing get away with a group of friends you want this is definitely the place for you.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jan 2017
Karen, it was a pleasure to have such a lovely group of ladies stay and enjoy their time here. Delighted you all had such as great experience. We hope to see you back again in the near future! Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evan P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed 12 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a family get together over Xmas and New Year. The house is fantastic. 6 large ensuite bedrooms, 2 large living areas with fireplaces and a kids room which worked really well for us as we had 3 toddlers! I would highly recommend staying here as a base for exploring Cork or just to relaxed in country home. Kela and Steven who live nearby were great hosts, thank you very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2017
Thank you for the great feedback. We really enjoyed having your lovely fun family around and delighted you were happy with the house. We wish you all the very best for 2017 and hope to welcome the newly extended family back again! Best wishes, Kela & Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$591
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing