We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think carefully before you subject your friends to staying here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Barnabrow Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Barnabrow does not market itself as a hotel, it is a "venue".It is perched on the side of a hill. As you arrive there is no view of the house just the roof and various accomodation and the dining room built to the rear.

There is nobody manning reception. A girl stuck her head in our car window told us to park and took us to our room. Such a disappointment. It is different but in the right way? There is retro, eclectic and shabby chic but!!!!!!!!! The furnishings do not bear commenting on. It was cold, the kettle did not work, the telephone did not work, not that there was anybody to answer in reception, and the blinds fell off when pulled. There was no hot water to shower next morning, the towels had brown "rusty" spots on and the loo once flushed took forever to fill again. The loo beside the dining room in the main house came within a couple of centimetres of overflowing when flushed.

If you are lucky at breakfast you will get a seat at the table in the room near the kitchen, If not you are shown to the large, formal dining room. It was winter and it was cold. There was no obvious sign of heating. Breakfast was exactly what you would get in any hotel so no tips taken from Ballymaloe which is next door. The meal at the wedding reception was perfectly edible but hardly enhanced by the mashed potato arriving in a huge mound on top of a soup plate with a spoon stuck in,

The staff take their cue on how they interact with the guests from the owner. The only interaction they want with you is when they take your money at reception (which opens for the purpose) when you are checking out.

However, in my opinion, health and safety is the biggest issue at this location. People have to go outdoors to access the various areas and get back to their accomodation. The lighting did not work and people were floundering around in the dark, up and down fairly steep gravel paths and accessing the main house via a perpendicular fire escape ladder at the rear. If you do inflict this location on your family and friends make sure you tell them to bring a torch.

I have read the positive reviews about this venue and cannot reconcile them with my experience there. It is such a shame because we were really looking forward to our friends wedding celebrations. The saddest thing is we have to lie when asked if we enoiyed their day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank westener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Barnabrow Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2011

Very unfriendly on check in. Manager was rude to us on more than one occasion.
We stayed in cottage, lots of flies in thw bedrooms, no cleaning products in d houses.
Food was exceptional but the alcohol was very expensive.
Bottom line, would not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jilljoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I attended a lovely wedding at Barnabrow House last weekend. The awful weather could not take away from the charm of the place such was the warmth that I experienced there. From the log fires, the hundreds of twinkling candles and the genuinely very helpful staff, we felt cosy and nurtured throughout the whole day and into the early hours.
Barnabrow House sprawls into a seemingly exclusive country village - it was just so different and so interesting to explore.
The combination of the truly great food, friendly atmosphere, welcoming staff and feeling of privacy and relaxation made it into one of the best weddings that I was ever at. It is really nice to be in an environment for such a personal occasion where you feel that you have taken ownership of a little piece of heaven for a while

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I was there for the evening part of a wedding at the weekend. We were really looking forward to staying there as the brochure looked lovely, but we were absolutely shocked at what greeted us.
When we arrived there was no one to be seen at reception, we had to ring the hotel to get someone to attend to us.
We were then shown to what I can only describe as a converted barn/stable.
There were cobwebs and spiders everywhere, the room was very small, damp and musty.
The beds, while clean, felt damp and were very uncomfortable.
There were no bed side lockers, just two old and worn wicker chairs that had seen better days. The bedside lamps were all cracked and filthy.
There was no TV, the kettle, cups and saucers were dirty and had to be washed before we could use them. The long life milk was dated Dec '10 and was unusable.
When we plugged in the kettle there was a burning smell and we thought it might blow up !!
We tried to contact reception for over an hour but couldn't get any answer. There was no staff to be found anywhere. There was no place to get a drink or snack either.
The room was very cold and no heat came on at any stage during the night. The lock on The door was stiff and very hard to lock and unlock, god help anyone trying to get out if there was a fire !
The building where the wedding reception was held was nice enough but the price of the drinks were outrageous.
The breakfast in the morning was very ordinary, very poor choice of cereals, nothing special and no choice other than the usual fry, which was small, to say the least. The tomatoes were not even cooked!
When we were checking out we listed our comments of dissatisfaction, they were noted in a book but that's all.
There was no apology, and no discount offered.

To sum it up, it was "Faulty Towers " at it's worst.
We left feeling angry and cheated. The room cost us €100 for the night , that was apparently discounted because we were guests at the wedding !!

A complete and utter rip off.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mountainviewbandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Barnabrow House was the venue for our wedding. Everything was perfect from the ambiance created by the venue to the food and service. We have the utmost praise for Gary, the chef, he was excellent especially in the planning of the menu. He put forward various suggestions for our menu, all improving the end result. The food quality and presentation were top quality. We have received numerous compliments about the food since our wedding. The venue is ideal for anyone looking to avoid the commercial hotel wedding, it is very homely and all of our guests were very relaxed from arrival. The breakfast in the morning is top class and the breakfast room is tastefully presented in keeping with the house.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midleton
8.0 km away
Midleton Park Hotel
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
719 reviews
4.9 km away
Castlemartyr Resort
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,710 reviews
5.9 km away
Garryvoe Hotel
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
426 reviews
14.4 km away
Fota Island Resort
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,186 reviews
2.3 km away
Wisteria House
Wisteria House
#1 of 1 in Cloyne
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barnabrow Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnabrow Country House

Address: Cloyne, Midleton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Midleton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Midleton
Price Range: €127 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnabrow Country House, dating from 1639, has been lovingly and extensively restored over the past ten years. It now proudly stands as one of the most stunning wedding venues in Munster. It sprawls over 35 acres, has 22 individually-designed bedrooms and a large medieval-style banqueting hall that seats 150 guests as well as some traditional self-catering cottages. It is relaxed and friendly and offers a truly different ambiance for celebrations that are bespoke and exclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barnabrow Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barnabrow Country House Hotel Midleton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing