We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Farmgate Resturant & Country Store
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Midleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 23 July 2018

We went here on a Saturday night. There was a lovely atmosphere as we were seated in the outdoor canopied area. The menu has a great variety of fish. We all were delighted with our mains - Turbot, Monkfish & Ribeye steak. The accompanying veg and potatoes are perfectly cooked, seasoned and so fresh. We shared clabclaws for starters - so delicious but a very big starter for one person. We got two desserts - Affogata and flourless chocolate cake. Both delightful. The service was friendly, efficient and good humoured. The prices are probably like Dublin prices but it's excellent produce and very generous portions. Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank OrlaithCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

I have eaten here with friends and family on many occasions. I have never left being disappointed. The food and service is always great. Food is all homemade and all food items are from local food producers. If you are a cake and sweet lover the farmgate is the place to go as it has lovely desserts and cakes on offer. A must visit restaurant if you are in the Midleton area.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank James-William210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch after the Jameson’s distillery the food and service was excellent as were the puddings deffinitley recommend a visit

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank BirminghamRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Delicious lunch yesterday, very tasty. Place is spotless and has a french feel to it. Fab paintings on the walls and the books under the piano r a great idea for children. I'd love to dine here by night as i'd imagine it would b very special.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank baltovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Visited the Farmgate to celebrate my Mother’s birthday with family, a group of 6 in total. The service was awful. Waiter asked if we would like drinks but only toke two peoples order at the table and walked away. Had to ask another waiter to take the other four orders. She asked my Mother in law if she would like Chardonnay or Sauvignon Blanc. She asked for Sauvignon Blanc but we all agreed it was definitely Chardonnay she was given. My Mother in law doesn’t drink Chardonnay so I addressed it with the waiter and was told no it is Sauvignon Blanc because we don’t serve Chardonnay. If that was true then why did she offer her Chardonnay in the first place?. We had to ask them to take our food order after waiting 40 minutes, it toke an hour and 40 minutes until main course arrived. Even trying to get the waiters attention was difficult. When we did they were less than helpful and it seemed as though we were a hinderance. Often they walked away while we were still talking to them. We were never asked if we needed anything or if the meal was ok. Food was only alright. I had the Chicken, it was dry and bland like the veg and potatoes.
Really regretted eating here especially as it was a special occasion.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank LFitz90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Farmgate Resturant & Country Store also viewed

 
Midleton, County Cork
 
Midleton, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 

Been to Farmgate Resturant & Country Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing