We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Nearby Hotels
Riverside Park Hotel(Macroom)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blarney Hotel & Golf Resort(Blarney)(Great Value!)
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Munster Arms(Bandon)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oriel House Hotel(Ballincollig)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gougane Barra Hotel(Gougane Barra)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$175
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveller rating
563
120
31
13
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
120
31
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgougane barraleisure centrebar foodtop classwedding receptionfrom start to finishfriendly hotelshort breakwonderful hotelwest corkstaff were so friendlyhotel barsteam roomfood was lovelywould highly recommend this hotelwaiting staffboth mornings
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 731 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in the hotel and attended the wedding fayre, I'm not sure if i ever came accross such helpful people, the tips and advise they gave were second to none. Wedding fayre was well done and beneficial, would have been nice to see a few stands more but still it was lovely.

Stay in hotel was enjoyable, breakfast was smashing.
I'll be back soon for our wedding which i believe the castle hotel will make a fantastice experience.

Room Tip: lovely rooms, comfortable beds.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deli_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Thank you most sincerely for posting your positive review of The Castle Hotel. We are really delighted to hear you found our Wedding Afternoon useful and that you enjoyed your 'pre wedding visit'!
We all very much look forwad to your wedding day here at The Castle and looking after you both and all your guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is located in Macroom town centre and is an ideal base to explore the scenery and attractions of Cork and Kerry. All staff were extremely friendly and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful. Spacious bedroom was very comfortable and tea and coffee facilities were provided. Large bathroom with bath and excellent shower. Free parking in large car park at rear of hotel. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was superb and excellent value. Excellent breakfast menu with top quality locally sourced food products. The lovely staff made this a most pleasant stay and we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

On behalf of all the staff and the Buckley family, I would like to thank you for firstly choosing our hotel and secondly for praising us so highly.
All of us here at the Castle Hotel strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable and positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We hope to see you again soon and we promise to continually improve our standards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Food was standard, nothing to write home about, husband got lasagna it was watery and tasteless and looked like it was flung into bowl,I got beef, it was nothing special, we got 2 sausage and chips between our three children, the waiter took execption to this and asked several times what were we ordering for the 3rd child even after I explained that a third plate would go to waste. €36 for the four plates of food was too much for the quality we got. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CorkRedser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Thank you for posting a comment about our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and are always looking for areas we can improve. I have passed them onto other members of management. Thank you for choosing the Castle Hotel and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

my fiance and i have just returned from a 2 night stay, we had a wonderful relaxing time and have even taught about having our wedding in the castle hotel even dough we live a 2 and a half hr drive away, it was well worth the drive!! the staff were wonderful, so welcoming and made us feel at home from the second we arrived!! the leisure centre, the restaurant, the bar, our room were all 5star not 4star!! the staff in the castle could teach other hotels a thing or 4 about how to treat their quests!! they are a credit to mr don buckley!! we will be returning again soon with our familys and are very much looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

I would like to thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us and indeed for choosing to share your experience of The Castle Hotel by posting your comments.

We are all passionate in providing an enjoyable experience to our guests and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit so much.

On behalf of us all at the Castle Hotel, I would like to extend our very best wishes for your future together and best of luck with your wedding plans!

We really do look forward to welcoming you to the Castle Hotel in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the castle hotel, from the really friendly staff to the fantastic food. The leisure facilities were really brilliant. And the voucher we got when leaving ensures a return visit. Thank you Mr. Buckley and staff for a most relaxing weekend-just what the doctor ordered!

Room Tip: room 130 was spacious, clean and so comfortable, i would recommend it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariaod7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Owner at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words , delighted to hear that ye all enjoyed the couple of days in Macroom & that ye had a safe trip back to Cahir.............I might call in for a cup of tea on my way to Clonmel next week !!! Don Buckley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews