We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Four Star Hotel, Five Star Service!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Four Star Hotel, Five Star Service!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

If ever passing through Macroom I would thoroughly recommend The Castle Hotel and Lesiure Centre in Macroom Co Cork. The service and welcome from the staff here are second to none in Ireland. From the lovely friendly reception you get when you enter the hotel, to the Leisure Centre and its great gym and swimming pool, to the excellent food served in its bar and restaurant and finally the excellent bar staff and a great pint and a great welcome always. Hats off to all the staff for a great welcome. Well done to Catherine, Trish, Kay and Lynn at reception, John, Kevin, Mackie, Miriam, David and Denise in the Leisure Centre, Brid in the cafe and last but not least to Eileen, Majella, Vicky, Jeremiah in the Bar and especially Billy the Head Barman who gave 110% attention to our son Jerry recently.The staff here are especially good with kids and adults with Special Needs. Apologies if I ommited to mention one of your helpful staff members. For a Four Star Hotel you give Five Star service. Well Done All!


The Mulcahy Family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanMulcahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent visit to us at The Castle Hotel in Macroom. We are all absolutely delighted to hear you and the kids enjoyed your stay so much. To read such positive comments gives all our staff such motivation and encourages to consistently improve our overall standards of service.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    100
    28
    12
    1
See reviews for
170
241
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed in the hotel and attended the wedding fayre, I'm not sure if i ever came accross such helpful people, the tips and advise they gave were second to none. Wedding fayre was well done and beneficial, would have been nice to see a few stands more but still it was lovely.

Stay in hotel was enjoyable, breakfast was smashing.
I'll be back soon for our wedding which i believe the castle hotel will make a fantastice experience.

Room Tip: lovely rooms, comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deli_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you most sincerely for posting your positive review of The Castle Hotel. We are really delighted to hear you found our Wedding Afternoon useful and that you enjoyed your 'pre wedding visit'!
We all very much look forwad to your wedding day here at The Castle and looking after you both and all your guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clonakilty
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

The hotel is located in Macroom town centre and is an ideal base to explore the scenery and attractions of Cork and Kerry. All staff were extremely friendly and efficient and couldn't have been more helpful. Spacious bedroom was very comfortable and tea and coffee facilities were provided. Large bathroom with bath and excellent shower. Free parking in large car park at rear of hotel. We had our evening meal in the bar and it was superb and excellent value. Excellent breakfast menu with top quality locally sourced food products. The lovely staff made this a most pleasant stay and we will be back in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmk89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
On behalf of all the staff and the Buckley family, I would like to thank you for firstly choosing our hotel and secondly for praising us so highly.
All of us here at the Castle Hotel strive to make every guest's stay an enjoyable and positive experience. Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We hope to see you again soon and we promise to continually improve our standards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Food was standard, nothing to write home about, husband got lasagna it was watery and tasteless and looked like it was flung into bowl,I got beef, it was nothing special, we got 2 sausage and chips between our three children, the waiter took execption to this and asked several times what were we ordering for the 3rd child even after I explained that a third plate would go to waste. €36 for the four plates of food was too much for the quality we got. Disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkRedser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you for posting a comment about our hotel. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and are always looking for areas we can improve. I have passed them onto other members of management. Thank you for choosing the Castle Hotel and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

my fiance and i have just returned from a 2 night stay, we had a wonderful relaxing time and have even taught about having our wedding in the castle hotel even dough we live a 2 and a half hr drive away, it was well worth the drive!! the staff were wonderful, so welcoming and made us feel at home from the second we arrived!! the leisure centre, the restaurant, the bar, our room were all 5star not 4star!! the staff in the castle could teach other hotels a thing or 4 about how to treat their quests!! they are a credit to mr don buckley!! we will be returning again soon with our familys and are very much looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHCork, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
I would like to thank you firstly for choosing to stay with us and indeed for choosing to share your experience of The Castle Hotel by posting your comments.

We are all passionate in providing an enjoyable experience to our guests and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent visit so much.

On behalf of us all at the Castle Hotel, I would like to extend our very best wishes for your future together and best of luck with your wedding plans!

We really do look forward to welcoming you to the Castle Hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Macroom
Riverside Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Macroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fernhill House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Clonakilty
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre

Property: Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre
Address: Main Street, Macroom, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Macroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Macroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The 4 Star Castle Hotel Winner of 2015 Trip Advisor Awards: Top 25 Hotels in Ireland! Winner of The Best Hotel Carvery In Ireland 2014/'15 Winner of An Irish Restaurant Association Award For Best Customer Service 2013/'14 The Luxury Four Star Hotel in Co. Cork is nestled between Blarney & Killarney, in the old world market town of Macroom - your idyllic location! Our boutique family owned hotel, offers you the ideal base to explore the abundance of activities in The South West of Ireland. You are guaranteed an intimate welcome from the Buckley Family, five star friendly service, and all the facilities you would expect at a multi award winning 4 star hotel. And this includes free Wifi! You will be spoiled for choice with our dining options, with an emphasis on using local & seasonal produce in B's Restaurant. You simply must sample our new Craft Beer menu in Dan Buckley's Bar and don't miss our home baked treats in our continental style cafe. As our guest you may indulge & relax in our Health & Leisure Club, with 16m deck level pool, spa bubble pool, kids pool, steam room & gym. You really must come now and see for yourself how wonderful Macroom is! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HRS, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Castle Hotel and Leisure Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Macroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing